Yummm….Another Chocolate Recipe! :<)

Quick and Delicious Chocolate Cupcakes

Is there ever such a thing as TOO MUCH chocolate?

IMO, no, there isn’t. 😉

With ♥ DAY just around the corner (and nothin’ does say lovin’ like something from the oven!!) I thought it was a good time to share another chocolatey good recipe from my cookbook: Not Just for Vegetarians.

This is actually a cake recipe as it was originally written, but I like to make cupcakes for (ahhemm) portion control LOL, yeah right. 😉

No, I actually just prefer cupcakes. Little personal, mini cakes to enjoy and great to add to lunches too. 🙂

***I’m including the complete recipe on page 2.***

If you do make these as cupcakes instead of a cake, reduce baking time to 20-25 minutes.

These are extra chocolatey good, with dark cocoa and mint or regular chocolate chips.

And if you’ve never made a cake with mayonnaise before, you’re in for a treat. So moist and rich.

I made 10 large cupcakes when I made these recently. And I do mean large!

Add a dusting of icing sugar or a scoop of vanilla ice cream on the side if you like. No icing required.

Here’s another recently posted chocolate recipe: Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins you might want to try too.

Happy Baking !

Quick and Delicious Chocolate Cake

1 1/2 C. unbleached white flour

3/4 C. white or raw sugar

1/3 C. unsweetened (good quality) dark cocoa powder

1 1/2 teas. baking powder

1/2 teas. baking soda

1 C. dark or mint chocolate chips or mini chips

3/4 C. regular or light mayonnaise

3/4 C. water

1 large egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease and flour a 8-9″ metal cake pan and set aside. If making cupcakes, use unbleached paper liners (preferred) or grease pan thoroughly.

In a large bowl, sift together all dry ingredients. Add chocolate chips. In a smaller bowl combine mayonnaise, water and egg. Add to dry mixture combining all ingredients thoroughly. Use an electric mixer if possible, for best results.

Pour into prepared pan. Bake 35-40 minutes for cake, 20-25 for cupcakes until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool on rack before cutting/serving.

PS: I make these cupcakes  in my large toaster oven on the convection setting and they come out perfectly!

Adapted from the original recipe: Quick and Delicious Chocolate Cake  from Not Just for Vegetarians by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

11 responses

  1. Yummy:)

    Hope all is well G.

    Margie
    xx

  2. These are delicious and very chocolatey and moist. I’d like one right now.

  3. for portion control….smiles…i could use some of that….ha….

  4. I am droooooling, yum

  5. Hi Owl, Welcome and thank you! I love owls. 🙂

    Hi Margie, Yummy indeed. All is very well, thank you.

    Hi Joe, Me too. I’ll make some more soon.

    Hi Brian, I thought that was kind of funny myself. 😉 We all still need treats though, don’t we?

    Hi Lorraine, And they taste even better than the photo. The choc. chips add a nice ‘burst’ of intense chocolate throughout. I use dark organic chips (not too sweet) and they really make these special.

    Happy Baking and Happy Wednesday, G 🙂

  6. I’m always in for chocolate…thanks for sharing.

    Jen

  7. thesmittenimage

    Drooooolllll!

  8. I dont’ suppose you can send a few by mail, I’d like them squashed just as well, but I know my immigration guys they’d smell it and eat it, just to ensure there’s you know no illegal substance, I wish that i had even the smallest urge to cook or bake I just don’t have it…..

  9. Hi Jen, I hear ya Jen ! Me too. 😉

    Hi Hilary, I hear ya too Hilary. 😉 Not my best food photo but it does still have some “drool factor, I agree. LOL

    Hi Lorraine, I don’t think that would work. These can be whipped up in about 10 minutes L, you really should give them a try. And cooking and baking can be very relaxing!!!

    Happy Weekend, G

  10. not for me, not when I know I can’t eat them anymore 🙂 so I’ll just come here and drool. no chocolate for me, no bread for me, no salads, no greens no fruits …my body is not thriving with these food anymoore….

Thanks so much for your comments!