An (almost) Guilt-Free Chocolate Treat!

I was craving chocolate (big time!) a few days ago and not a square of chocolate was to be found in the fridge. 😦

I decided to browse through my cookbook: Not Just for Vegetarians and made these: Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins  as a almost guilt-free chocolate “fix” instead of heading to the store. I’m glad that I did.

Yummy, oh so moist and chocolatety too.

And not too bad when it comes to healthier ingredients. A better choice than a chocolate bar! 😉

I keep sugar to a minimum in all my baking and used about a 1/2 cup for these. You might want to add a bit more, to taste if you like sweeter dessert muffins.

The oatmeal keeps them nice and moist, even the next day.

I made BIG muffins, that’s why there’s only 6 in the photo above. Eight regular muffins can easily be made from one batch of batter.

Hope you enjoy these muffins too and do let me know if  you try them. 🙂

The complete recipe for: Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins is on page 2.

Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins

Makes 6 large or 8 regular muffins.

1 large egg

1/4 C. vegetable oil

3/4 C. milk

1 C. unbleached white flour

1/4 C. wheat bran

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2-3/4 C. raw sugar

3 T. good quality cocoa powder

3/4 C. rolled oats (uncooked)

Preheat oven to 400F. Thoroughly grease muffin tins or use paper liners and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine first 3 liquid ingredients thoroughly. In another smaller bowl combine dry ingredients, sifting if necessary to remove any lumps in cocoa. Gradually add dry ingredients to first mixture, stirring just to combine.

Spoon batter into muffin cups and bake 20-25 minutes until done. Reduce heat to 375 after first 10 minutes if browning too much.

Allow to cool at least 5 minutes before serving. If you can wait that long! 😉

Recipe from Not Just for Vegetarians. Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. Photo by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

6 responses

  1. These muffins do look delicipous, and I’ll bet they smelled wonderful baking, as well!
    They look very tempting, indeed!
    Brenda

  2. I’m glad you made them too. These were so good. Always something good coming from the kitchen here.

  3. I’d like one of these right now! 🙂

  4. I was looking for a good muffin recipe! 🙂
    These look so yummy! I have to try them tonight! 🙂
    xoxoxo

  5. Oh yum … A must try!! 😀

  6. Hi Vesper and Becca, Do let me know how you like these!

    I just posted another recipe today, this one for a yummy main dish from the slow cooker. 🙂

    Happy Cooking, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

