Carrots: Can’t Get Enough of Them!

I’m just crazy about carrots!

Love them, all ways: Raw, cooked, in soups, salads, wraps,cakes, muffins…

The recipe I’m including with this post is for a soup that I make at least once a week from my cookbook: Cream of Carrot Soup (see complete recipe second page). Especially good when garden carrots are available. Extra yummy!

And check out the: World Carrot Museum, what a hoot!

Enjoy and happy cooking! 🙂

Carrot photo (wow love it too!) courtesy of: Flickr

PS: My apologies for the wonky text size changes in this post…WP, acting up a bit it seems. I did try to fix it!

Cream of Carrot Soup

2 T. butter or good quality non-whipped margarine

1 medium onion, chopped

2-4 cloves garlic minced (to taste)

5 medium carrots, chopped

1/4-1/2 tsp. sea salt

1-2 tsp. crushed dried thyme leaves

1/4-1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Optional spices: (all or any of these work well) a generous dash (to taste) of: ground cloves,ground ginger,ground nutmeg,ground all-spice,ground cinnamon (and yes, I do use them all!)

1-2 tsp. Mrs. Dash Original Blend seasoning

5 C. vegetable soup stock

1/3 C. uncooked rice (brown or white)

1/2 C. milk or soy milk

Garnishes: chopped parsley and/or carrot rings

In a large soup pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add onions, garlic and carrots and saute for about 2 minutes.

Add spices and stir to coat vegetables thoroughly. Cover and steam for 5 minutes to blend/intensify flavours. Hint: this simple step makes a big difference, in this and many other recipes too. 

Add all remaining ingredients except for milk. Cover and simmer for 30-40 minutes until carrots are very tender and rice is cooked (brown rice will require longer cooking time). Remove from heat and cool slightly. Add milk.

Blend to desired consistency using a food processor or immersion blender. Re-heat to serving temperature. Garnish and enjoy!

Cream of Carrot Soup recipe adapted from: Not Just for Vegetarians. All Rights Reserved.

9 responses

  1. I’ve never heard of cream of carrot soup! lol cream of broccoli which I love and cream of celery which I don’t but never cream of carrot…may try it sometime, sounds good anyway 🙂

  2. This sounds so good, I love carrots too! My favorite roasted whole with a little farlic flavored olive oil ….RaeDi

  3. This IS a great picture. I think cream of carrot soup sounds delicious. I used to make and enjoy mashed potatoes, with added mashed carrots, and sauteed onion added.
    Did you eat carrots right from the garden, with abit of dirt, when you were a child – mmm so good.:)
    Brenda

  4. The soup is delicious, have enjoyed it many times. Even made it myself a couple of times. I love carrots too. Great photo.

  5. Hi Cath, I love cream of brocolli soup too. This one is very different, the spice blend adds a lovely sweet-spicy flavour and the rice makes it a perfect consistency, not to thick or thin. Let me know if you give this one a try.

    Hi Rachael, Yumm, that sounds very good. And do let me know if you give this recipe a try too.

    Hi Brenda, yes, I can remember picking and eating carrots out of the garden and yes, we didn’t always clean them much, maybe a sprinkle with the garden hose.

    Hi Joe, I loved this photo. I wanted one that looked abundant and Flickr did not disappoint today. 😉

    Happy Week and Happy Cooking, G

  6. I am mad for carrots. My local fruit shop sells the most delicious organic carrots. They are actually sweet. I eat them straight out of the bag. YUM. Can’t wait to try your soup!

  7. all my life I’ve eaten vegetables, crudites, raw veg and was in perfect health,nw I can eat lettuce, tomatoes…..grapes, strawberries and the rest is hurting me???????? ithink it’s a side effect of medecine I’m taken…h and I can eat grapes, but peppers onions cauliflower broccoli, what used to be mymainstream dinners, can’t handle anymore, isn’t that a shame, and carrot I can but only if I cook them to death….and Beeno doesn’t work

  8. forgot to say , you are one fantastic, knowledgeable, interesting gal, you know that!!! Now I look at all your blogs

  9. Hi Sel, I’ve done that too, fresh out of the bag but I do think a bit of a wash is a very good idea now days. 😉

    Hi Lorraine, Aren’t you nice, thanks L! And sorry about the food limitations. That would be hard. I love almost every kind of fruit and veggie except parsnips, eeeuuuwwwww….can’t get a taste for those it seems.

    Happy Week, G

Thanks so much for your comments!