Recipe: Cream of Cauliflower Soup with Tarragon

I’ve been doing a lot of cooking in the past couple of weeks. It’s nice to be back into the kitchen with the cooler temperatures making cooking fun again.

This is an adaptation of a soup recipe from Not Just for Vegetarians for Cream of Cauliflower Soup.

 The cauliflowers available at the local stores right now are incredibly large. This one yielded: a big pot of soup, lots of crudities to go with dip and a big batch of Veggie Curry.

I’ve added tarragon which I love to the recipe, nutmeg and sour cream and changed the method to make it easier and less dishes and pots to clean, than the earlier version.LOL  I hope you enjoy it.

 Cream soups are not the best subjects when it comes to photos, it actually looks tempting and elegant in reality and much better than the photo! And the taste and aroma, oh so yummmmy.

Happy Cooking and here’s the recipe:

 

Cream of Cauliflower Soup with Tarragon

2 T. butter or good quality non-whipped margerine

1/2 large cauliflower divided into florets

1 medium white onion chopped

2 T. unbleached white flour OR 1 T. cornstarch

3 C. vegetable soup stock (cauliflower is full of water, adds to the total liquid)

1/4-1/2 teas. sea salt, to taste

1/4- 1/2 teas. freshly ground black pepper, to taste

1/4-1/2 teas. ground nutmeg, to taste

1-2 teas. Mrs. Dash Original Blend seasoning blend, to taste

1/2 C. low-fat sour cream

2 T. fresh finely chopped tarragon or fresh dill

1  T. fresh finely chopped flat leaf parsley

Garnish: grated sharp Cheddar or vegan Cheddar cheese, seasoned croutons (optional)

In a large soup pot, melt butter over medium-low heat. Add cauliflower and onions and saute for 3-4 minutes. Cover and steam an additional 5 minutes over low heat to release flavors. Add flour and stir to coat vegetables evenly. Add vegetable soup stock, salt, pepper, nutmeg and Mrs. Dash Seasoning Blend and bring back to a boil. Cover and simmer over low heat for 10-15 minutes until cauliflower is soft.

Combine remaining ingredients in a small bowl. Add to soup and simmer for 2-3 more minutes. Remove from heat. Blend with a food processor to desired consistency ( I like it a bit chunky). Reheat gently, adjust seasonings if required, garnish and serve.

Makes 4 servings.

Cream of Cauliflower Soup with Tarragon adapted from the recipe in: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

9 responses

  1. Looks good! I love soup, but my husband isn’t so crazy about it. Do you think this would freeze in small batches?

  2. I MUST try your recipes. I am a non-eater by nature, happy with the basics on a small scale. Only when I bake do I feel at peace in the kitchen because I am doing for others. I love that joy. I need to see meals that way, too. You inspire me. Thank you, friend.

  3. I’m going to try this recipe, sound delish, and I only have one recipe for this vege.

  4. Hi Sandy L, I wouldn’t recommend freezing this, the cauliflower and fresh herbs probably wouldn’t fare very well. Try making a half batch and giving your husband a sample. He might like this one!

    Hi Sandy C, I am at home in the kitchen, I LOVE to cook. Now I am learning to eat smaller portions but I still love to cook and enjoy great food. I hope you enjoy some recipes from NJFV very soon.

    Hi Cynthia, I love, love love cauliflower. I hope you enjoy this soup and do stop by again to let me know!

    Hugs and Happy Week, G

  5. NOM NOM NOM. I will definitely make this one. I love cauliflower. Sounds delicious!

  6. You will definitely enjoy this soup, it was delish!

    Lucky me, having such a great cook to live with. 😉

  7. On this cold night, this looks perfect!

  8. Hi Sel, I love your wording! It IS delish, if you like cauliflower, you will love this soup.

    Hi Jingle, Thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Joe, Ahhhh……

    Hi Sandy C, It would be, indeedy. 😉

    Hugs and Happy Cooking, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

