Diet Update: 3 Weeks and losing!

It’s been three weeks yesterday that I started following the Shangri-La diet. So far I’ve lost 6 pounds! I am very happy with how things are going. I am never hungry, don’t feel deprived and have plenty of energy to take on each day.

Slow and steady stays the course. As I said in this previous post I have never followed an easier weight loss plan. I think that many people after reading about the Shangri-La diet think that it can’t work because it is so easy to follow. It can and it does.

The only scary part so far was finally getting on a scale after a long, long time of not even owning one. The reality check is what I needed though, to stay on track and motivated. Being tall (5’9″) doesn’t help when it comes to weight loss. With more height to distribute excess weight, it’s easy to get complacent. As so many people have said to me: “you don’t look fat, why would you need a diet?” Again, the reality of stepping on a scale is what I needed. That and my “skinny jeans” waiting in the wings. 😉

A few points that have really made an impression in the past three weeks. I realize now just how large the portions were getting around here. For Joe it’s fine, he’s very thin and fit. And isn’t it always the case with men, they can eat a lot more and get away with it. I also enjoy every bite so much more now, I notice the flavors in foods more. I eat slower. I’ve almost quit snacking completely (a big problem previously). I don’t think about food all day long anymore. All pluses!!!

Well that’s about it for now. I won’t have any before pics to share but I will share an after pic (skinny jeans perhaps???) when that happy day of reaching my goal gets here. I don’t know how long it will take to achieve but it will happen.

Wish me luck! 🙂

13 responses

  1. You can do it! That does sound like a very sensible diet, and that is what works. I am waiting to see the skinny jeans shot.

  2. I am so glad it is working for you! You are the best.

  3. I am really pleased for you, G. You are going to be irresistible in those skinny jeans. ROWR!

  4. This is great, Geraldine! I’m glad it’s working out for you the way you’re hoping it to. I’m looking forward to your picture in skinny jeans… Good luck! 🙂

  5. Hi Sandy L, Thanks for your kind words. The skinny jeans are a ways off but I am on a very good path to get there. This is the most effortless diet I have ever followed!

    Hi Sandy C, YOU are the best! 😉

    Hi Sel, Rooooowr, back to you dear Sel, thanks dear friend. 😉

    Hi Vesper, Thanks V, I have a ways to go as I said above but I need to do this for so many reasons. Weight creeps up slowly, it’s going to take a while to get back to being fit and trim (as I was for most of my life).

    Hugs to all, G

  6. Yay for you! Slow and steady is the key- really! I did order the book- I am curious… I am intrigued by your lack of hunger so I can’t wait till the book arrives and I can find out the secret to that as well- lol,. Keep up the good work!!!

  7. Bring on the skinny jeans, beautiful lady!

  8. Hi Patti, It’s really very simple and very effective at the same time. You have to follow some “rules” but again simple, cheap and painless. The no hunger pangs is amazing! Let me know how it goes.

    Hi Sandy C, You are so nice!

    Hugs, G

  9. Way to go! I wish I needed to lose weight – but my problem is the opposite – I have to work at staying at least 1 pound over toooooo skinny.

  10. good 4 u,.
    stay upbeat.

    u deserve the best.

  11. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/10/23/6244/

    two awards for you,
    invite you to join us at jingle poetry….

  12. Hi Sue, Sounds like my kind of problem! Just kidding, I know being underweight can be a struggle too, we just don’t here as much about it.

    Hi Jingle, Thanks for your kind words and awards, aren’t you nice!

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G

  13. Yay! I’m glad that it is working for you! You should be really proud of all the positive changes you’ve implemented! You’ll be in those skinny jeans in no time! 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

