Homemade Energy Bars vs Commercial Choices

I was doing a search today for good/tasty/healthy energy bar options.

Wow, there’s a lot of junk out there that is being hyped as the answer to this ongoing (and for so many people) culinary/snack quest.

Most of the commercial bars that I checked out either looked yucky and tasteless and/or they had ingredient lists that left much to be desired. 😦

I did find these energy bar recipes over at the Rodale Press site that actually look good.  Very simple combos of healthier ingredients, in flavours that sound appealing too: Raw Lemon-Coconut Bars, Chocolate Cashew Cookie Bars, Apple Pie Bars…to name a few.

I’m going to give these a try soon, need to get some ingredients to test out a couple of these recipes. But they do sound like good alternatives to some of the commercial energy bar offerings that are currently available.

Anyone know of a good commercial energy bar? Do tell! 😉

And do let me know if you give any of these recipes a try too.

Happy Snacking! 🙂

6 responses

  1. Not one to eat the energy bars but, if you come up with a good recipe, I might just try it. Always good to have those kinds of snacks around. Personally, I tend to go for sesame seed bars – just love those.

  2. HI LL, I actually forgot to mention this recipe from my cookbook for Tahini Terrific No-Bake Energy Bars:

    Tahini Terrific No-Bake Energy Bars

    these are very yummy but it’s nice to try a new recipe too. I’ve made these so many times and they never last long. 😉

    Thanks for your comment and for reminding me! G

  3. Jen eats Larabars. They are raw, vegan, gluten-free, and with no added sweetener. They are not marketed as energy bars, but they do have protein and sugars from fruit to get you moving!

  4. The tahini bars are really good. So many commercial energy bars are junk, I agree.

  5. I don’t do bars, of any kind (giggle) I think you are the most remarkable woman I’ve ever met, and If I could even just become more like you by 20% it would be a thrill, the best I can say about me, Is I’m hanging as well as I can, and it’s so hard, but you you give hope that one day, maybe another lifetime I could be like you, you are AWESOME

  6. Hi Rumpy, I did note the LaraBars as one of the better ones but I thought the protein level was a bit low as I remember.

    Hi Joe, I like those too but it’s nice to find something new to try, recipes or store-bought. The commercial ones (many) leave a lot to be desired.

    Hi Lorraine, You are soooo nice. Thanks my dear friend. You are wonderful, just as you are. 🙂

    Happy Weekend, G

Thanks so much for your comments!