Tahini Terrific No-Bake Energy Bars

    If you like Eat-More or Cliff bars, you will love this recipe for a nutritious and delicious redo.  Makes a great snack anytime of day. We like these before going out for a run/walk (we are up to half running/half-walking now!!).

Very satisfying, one of these bars  provides a lot of energy but not too filling. Vegan-friendly. Happy Mother's Day and BFN….  🙂

TAHINI TERRIFIC NO-BAKE ENERGY BARS      

Looking for a quick snack on the run?  Maybe a quick snack BEFORE a run?  Either way, these delicious and very-satisfying bars will fuel you up for the day or road ahead. Lots of taste, a snack bar to enjoy anytime of the day. Makes 16 bars.

1 C. tahini

½ -3/4 C. brown rice syrup , to taste

½ C. soy milk

2 T. unsweetened carob powder

1 ½  teas. ground cinnamon 

1 C. chopped pecans or walnuts   

1 C. hulled unsalted sunflower seeds    

1 C. unsweetened shredded coconut    

 ½ C. uncooked rolled oats      

  1 C. raisins                                                                                                  

 Line a 9” square OR  7" x 11"  cake pan with wax paper, grease and set aside.  In a large saucepan, combine the tahini and brown rice syrup and heat over low heat. Add soy milk, carob powder and cinnamon and stir to combine thoroughly, forming a smooth paste. Cook over low heat for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Turn off heat, leaving saucepan on burner, just to stay slightly warm.  Add remaining ingredients, stirring to combine thoroughly, mixture will be stiff. Pour into prepared cake pan and smooth top using a spatula. Score top to form 16 equal bars, don’t cut through. Cool in fridge until firm (about 2 hours). Cut into bars and enjoy.

Note: These bars keep well in freezer for longer storage.

Reprinted from Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved. 

10 responses

  1. These sound heavenly!

  2. Hi Genaldine!
    I LOVE cliff bars. and this recipe looks great. I’d probably put dried cherries in it instead of raisins (i’m not a fan of raisins too much). I should try and make this soon.. hmmm i think have some brown rice already..

    Thanks!
    Teddy

  3. oops i meant to say brown rice SYRUP
    : )

  4. Hi G….these sound good. I bet Jason would like them. He loves breakfast bars, and it’s really hard to find nutritious ones in the supermarket that aren’t full of trans fats and SUGAR. That’s my biggest pet peeve….sugar. I’m really sensitive to the amount of sugar that my 4-yr-old ingests, and it seems it’s in EVERYTHING. Jason eats a TON of yogurt and fresh fruit, so he gets lots of daily sugar (both processed and natural). Most yogurts have around 23g of sugar in them, which is a lot. And artificial sweeteners wig me out. I wish I could find an organic yogurt that didn’t have so much sugar added. I guess I could buy plain yogurt and add my own flavorings/fruit, but as a working mom I don’t always have time to do that. Do you have any suggestions? Thanks!

  5. Hi G., I love recipes that I could have never figured out on my own and this is one of them. Sounds pretty good!

    Hey Kim, yeah, everything has corn syrup in it! G. might know more about it but there is a herb called stevia that is supposedly a natural sweetner. You get it at someplace like Whole Foods, It’s kinda expensive but you only need a little bit. I only know what Curt’s sis. told me…she went through a phase where she used a lot of it with her 2 kids.

  6. Hi Harmonia, Yes, they are pretty darn delicious!
    Hi Teddy, Dried cherries would probably work just fine and sounds like a nice variation.
    Hi Kim, Brown rice syrup is a low-glycemic index, slower-releasing sugar in the body. And as you can see in the recipe, these are not super-sweet anyways, the brown rice syrup is very sweet so a little goes a long way.
    Hi Caroline, That’s the great thing about making your own…snack bars, yogurt, salad dressings etc….you control what goes into them and really its not that much work, as long as you have the ingredients on handand everything tastes so much better than the store-bought varieties, you can get spoiled though… LOL …
    I have tried stevia and to be honest, I think it takes quite a bit to get the sweetness required and we are definitely not fans of overly-sweet desserts etc, of any kind. I think its too early to say if stevia will be the miracle find they have predicted. As far as baking with it, I don’t use it, just a bit on fresh strawberries etc…

    Let me know what you think ladies, hope you try these bars soon. They do need to be in the fridge or freezer though for storage…I wrap them individually and they are ready to grab and go….BFN, G 🙂

  7. I made them last night and they are AWESOME. My 4-year-old gobbled them up. Thanks so much for the great recipe. I may try to freeze a few and see how they fare. IF there are any left by the end of this evening. 🙂

  8. […] Thanks to Kim at Carolina Purl (one of my daily blog-stops) for the nice feedback today re: my recent recipe post, Tahini Terrific No-Bake Energy Bars. I am happy to know that Jason, her darling 8 year old son also gave my snack bar recipe the thumbs-up! […]

  9. Hi Kim, They freeze perfectly, but its best if you wrap them individually. Then you can just take them out as you need them, they don’t take long to unthaw. Thanks again. G. 🙂

  10. My husband loves Cliff Bars! He went on a kick for several years where he absolutely had to have one everyday. Thankfully, he’s over that, but he still enjoys them from time to time. I’ll have to make him some of these! Celeste 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!