Blog/Site of the Week:Vegetarians in Paradise

I look at a lot (ie: waaaaaaaay too many) blogs/sites during any given week. Some good, some bad, some so-so and then there are the terrific ones I really enjoy and come back to again and again.

This past week I clicked my way to Vegetarians in Paradise, "A Los Angeles Vegetarian Web Magazine" as their home page proclaims. This is a fun and interesting site/blog to browse, attractive pages, colorful graphics and jam-packed with articles and recipes of interest. 

Just a sample from the list of topics that Vegetarians in Paradise has to offer: Recipe, Book and Restaurant reviews, Protein for Vegetarians, Airline Vegetarian Checklist, Vegetarian and Vegan recipes, Ask the Vegan Athlete, Heirloom Gardening (sounds interesting, Caroline: please explain??) and much, much more.

I am looking forward to browsing, reading and printing more recipes from this excellent site. So far, it's been well worth the visits and with time at a premium for everyone, any site/blog has to deliver, right? This one does. Check it out at: Vegetarians in Paradise

5 responses

  1. VIP looks like a good site G! (much better than the cilantro-bigot site from last week! πŸ™‚ I was interested in the Road to Vegetaria, sort of a how to for new veggies. I’m curious what your opinon is of “fake meat” products such as boca burgers, gimme lean sausages, soy lunchmeat, & chicken-alternative patties. Do you & Joe eat them?

    As for heirloom gardening, that has to do with what you might call “antique” seeds. “Hybrids” are when the seeds of two different varieties are crossed by breeders. “Heirlooms” are when the seeds have never been crossed. The seeds have been pollinated naturally (called open pollination) and someone has saved seeds from the resulting plant/vegetable through the generations.

    There’s nothing actually wrong with hybrids; in other words, they’re not genetically altered. They’re just cross-bred, by humans mostly but sometimes breeds can cross on their own. There are also genetically modifed varieties, which to me, are bad. IMHO hybrid is not bad but GMO is playing god b/c of gene manipulation. A hybrid tomato variety that lots of people know is called Early Girl. A heirloom variety that lots of people know is Giant Beefsteak. An (in)famous GMO tomato is the Flavr Savr.

    Hope that helps!

  2. What a garden whiz you are Caroline, I thought this was gonna be all about ‘old time’ flowers like sweet william, lavender, pansies, lily of the valley…scents that bring my grandma to mind siggggggh!!! Funny choice of name I think, its really just the ‘pure’ form of any particular plant, right?

    As far as the meat-subs. go, I think they are getting better all the time. Ive feed a lot of people over the years who were confirmed meat-eaters and they were amazed that they weren’t eating meat with the burgers etc..that they tried at my place. Some good, some bad brands…I ate a lot more of these when I first went vegetarian. Yves are the best overall in my opinion. I use quite a bit of the ham/salami in recipes in NJFV, adds a great flavour, to the borscht, wraps, cabbage rolls etc…without, I think old-time favs. redos as vegetarian can be a bit bland.
    Hope you are having a great Sunday, BFN, G πŸ™‚

  3. I sometimes forget about that site for some reason. I’ll have to visit it again! Thanks for the reminder!

  4. I have not been on that site in a while. Thanks for the reminder. πŸ™‚

  5. It’s a keeper, at least I think so. And I love their graphics!!!!
    Thanks for stopping by, G πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for your comments!

