Recipe:Pasta Primavera with Fresh Pesto Sauce

Back in May, I shared my recipe for Spinach and Mushroom Salad with Creamy Poppyseed Dressing, shown above. Today, I thought it would be a great time to feature the other recipe from this photo, Pasta Primavera with Fresh Pesto Sauce.

Gardens are in full bloom almost everywhere right now, so this is a wonderful, versatile recipe to enjoy again and again. Vary the veggies you use, to include some of your own personal favorites and of course, to use up what’s ready for picking. Quick to make, colorful, elegant and delicious.  

Happy Cooking and Blogging.        🙂

PASTA PRIMAVERA WITH FRESH PESTO SAUCE

This colorful pasta dish is great to make when the garden is brimming with fresh veggies and herbs. Vary your choice of vegetables if you like, to include your own particular favourites. . Vegan-friendly without the cheese or use vegan-type Parmesan if available. The Parmesan does add a nice flavor boost and texture.

Serves 4 generously.

PESTO SAUCE:

½ C. fresh basil leaves

3 T. chopped  fresh parsley

3 garlic cloves (or more to taste)

1 T. fresh lemon juice

4 T. pine nuts

1/3 C. light or regular extra virgin olive oil

½- 1 teas.sea salt (opt.)

1/8-1/4 teas. freshly-ground pepper, to taste

In a food processor, puree the basil leaves, parsley, garlic. lemon juice and pine nuts. Gradually pour in the olive oil, continuing to blend, forming a thick sauce. Add a bit more oil if necessary. Season to taste and set aside.

PASTA AND VEGETABLES:

 

200-250 grams uncooked fettucini or linguine pasta (try flavoured varieties for a change such as spinach, lemon pepper or tomato)

2 T. olive oil

1 medium onion, diced (preferably a sweet variety)

1 C. broccoli florets or chopped asparagus

1 large sweet red pepper, cut in strips

1 C. (bite-sized cut) green or yellow beans

1 C. sliced white mushrooms

Garnish: freshly-grated Parmesan cheese (optional)

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta to desired tenderness, rinse, drain and set aside.

While the pasta is cooking, heat the 2 T. of olive oil in a large frypan or wok over medium-high heat. Add all the vegetables except the mushrooms and stir-fry for 5 minutes. Add mushrooms and continue to cook for 2 more minutes. (Veggies should be cooked but still crisp). Remove from heat. Add pesto and pasta to the vegetable mixture and stir to combine thoroughly. Cover and heat through over low heat for about 2 minutes, just to heat through. Adjust seasoning if desired. Garnish with fresh Parmesan cheese and serve.

 

Adapted from the original recipe in: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved..

14 responses

  1. We all know how picky I am when it comes to food choices. But this sounds amazing!!! I would actually make and eat this. Hmm…perhaps I am slowly changing my pizza-eating ways????? 😉 Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. Oy. Can i just say how delicious that has got to be? WOW. And great, great plates. Love them!

  3. gorgeous photo. food looks amazing.

  4. Yum! And what a beautiful photo!

  5. When I saw your salad i thought it was Basil cheese and tomato. Haha I was like hmm that’s odd

    🙂

    Teddy

  6. *groan* This makes me really wish we’d been able to get our garden started this year. We’d just got our garden started at our last home when we ended up moving for my husband’s job. Now we need to start over again at our new place–hopefully next year!

  7. Hi Annie, I’m glad to be a good influence on your food choices… 🙂 Let me know if you sway from the ‘pizza path’ I think you will enjoy this recipe.

    Hi K, Thank you for the compliments. This is a photo from my cookbook, the plates were courtesy of ‘Linen and Things’, who graciously supplied some of the dishes etc… for the photo shoot. The photography sessions were VERY labour intensive but the results were even better than I had hoped for. Can’t take credit for the photography but I did do all of the cooking and some of the food styling for photos were my ideas.

    Hi UV and Chris, Thank you so much for your compliments. The recipes are even yummier to eat. 🙂

    Hi Teddy, Oh you are too cute!!!

    Hi Heather, I wish we had a real garden too, but just a potato patch this year, looking very good.

    There’s always plenty of farmer’s markets though…not quite the same but still delicious fresh produce to enjoy.

    Thanks so much to all of you for stopping by. Happy ‘Green’ Cooking and BFN, G 🙂

  8. That looks absolutely delicious!!!! 😉

  9. You have been added to our blogroll.

    The Girls

  10. Hi Tasha, It is delicious….hope you give it a try, vegan-friendly works fine!

    Hi Kitties, Thanks for the link and of course I have added your amazing blog to my link list already.

    BFN, G 🙂

  11. Yum! I love pesto and these pictures are beautiful!

  12. I’ve had both of these dishes, many times. They are always just delicious. I even made the pasta recipe myself a couple of times, fun to make.

  13. Some gorgeous food pictured here! I love mushrooms.

  14. I made a big batch of the pasta primavera for my picky husband and 5 teenagers and it was such a hit! Thank you for the recipe. I can’t wait to try some more.

Thanks so much for your comments!