Recipe: Split Pea Soup

  

                                                                                            

Rain, rain and MORE RAIN….go away! It's another wet and cool day, here on the Prairies. We had an early start to summer which usually equates into a cooler season throughout. I really don't mind the rain (makes me feel productive!) but it would be nice to see the sun come shining through….hopefully soon.

In the meantime, it's great weather for soup. My fav. food anytime of the year and this is probably my fav. soup (at least in the creamy category). So, without further comment (or digressing LOL) I share with you my recipe for Split Pea Soup, enjoy!  

SPLIT PEAS SOUP  Wonderful on a cold, rainy day with freshly-baked bread or buns. Full of flavor and stick to your ribs satisfying !!! Serves 6-8 generously. Freezes well.

3 T. vegetable oil

2 large carrots, diced

1 large onion, diced

3 stalks celery, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced (optional but adds a lot of flavor)

  ½ (155 gr.) pkg. vegetarian ham or pepperoni, diced, I use Yves

6 C.  vegetable soup stock

 2 C. dried yellow or green split peas (washed and drained)

 1 T. Dijon mustard

1- 1 ½ teas Mrs. Dash Original Blend OR Spike Seasoning Blend

10 peppercorns – Note: Remove peppercorns before eating soup. If desired, tie them in a muslin bag, and remove them all at once from soup, before serving.

Garnish: 1 carrot, grated. Chopped parsley

Heat the oil in a large soup pot. Saute the carrots, onion, celery, garlic and veggie pepperoni or ham for about 5 minutes over medium heat. Add the remaining ingredients, cover and bring to a boil.

Reduce heat to low and simmer,covered for 2 hours, stirring occasionally to keep soup from sticking. Soup will be thick but add a bit more water if necessary, for desired consistency.

Garnish each serving with grated carrot and chopped parsley and  serve.

Reprinted from: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way, by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

4 responses

  1. I’ll have to try this one – I usually just put peas, water, onions and ham stock together and cook until it looks like wall-paper paste. My DH likes it that way – I take my half out when the peas are just tender and then add rice to “my mix”. Knitnana said that you had some wonderful recipes here.

  2. This is one of my favorite soups too. I’m glad we are having some for lunch today!

  3. well it’s about 85 here and *phew* just looking at this soup is making me sweat!
    Sounds tastey but will have to wait till it cools down

    teddy

  4. Geraldine, up until a few days ago it was hot soup weather here in NY State, too—rain for days, chilly, dreary. I made a lot of soup during those two weeks. Now it’s time to switch to cold soups, since for me, soups are a year-round event!

Thanks so much for your comments!