Kasha and Beet Salad with Celery and Feta

Kasha and Beet Salad with Celery and Feta (page 92)

How’s this for a yummy looking salad? 🙂

After recently reading the much-talked about Wheat Belly diet book; I’ve been experimenting with cutting down on wheat in my diet.

Although I am not gluten-intolerant, there appears to be a lot of health benefits for cutting back on wheat and also all refined forms of carbohydrates. I’ve effortlessly lost 5 pounds since I started my wheat-reduction experiment, about a month ago.

GFWholeGrainsFinalCover

But it is a transition, especially when some of my fav foods include bread, pasta, muffins… So when I found out about The Complete Gluten-Free Whole Grains Cookbook by one of my favorite cookbook authors:  Judith Finlayson  I was very happy!

Judith has done a great job (again) with her latest cookbook.

Not only does this beautiful cookbook provide 125 gluten-free whole grain recipes with everything from soups to desserts (and with full color photos throughout) it is also an excellent resource for anyone who is following or considering a gluten-free diet . Or like me, just attempting to cut down on foods containing wheat and gluten.

There is a detailed and very helpful section at the beginning of the book, that features listings for many popular gluten-free grains such as: quinoa, wild rice, amaranth, kasha….and many more. Including tips for cooking and storing the various grains and nutritional information.

Judith Finlayson focuses on healthier choices to wheat in our diet, not just substituting other (less than desirable) starches as is the case with too many other gluten-free cookbooks that I’ve looked at. These are healthy and delicious recipes that make transitioning from wheat and other foods containing gluten, easy and fun.

I’ve made a few recipes from this cookbook already and this salad is my fav to date.

Just yummy and so colorful too.

I’m a big fan of beets. They are a veggie that IMO don’t get enough credit/use when it comes to adding them to a variety of recipes, especially salads. You will love this salad, especially if you love beets!

Would make a great addition to a picnic, potluck or BBQ menu! 🙂

See the complete recipe on page 2.

Kasha and Beet Salad with Celery and Feta

I love the robust flavors of this hearty salad. Beets, parsley and feta are the perfect balance for assertive buckwheat. It’s a great combination and a wonderful buffet dish. Vegetarian friendly.

Tip: Buckwheat groats that are already toasted are known as kasha. If you prefer a milder buckwheat flavor, use groats rather than kasha in this dish. Just place them in a dry skillet over medium-high heat and cook, stirring constantly, until they are nicely fragrant, about 4 minutes. In the process they will darken from a light shade of sand to one with a hint of brown. Groats you toast yourself have a milder flavor than store-bought kasha.

2 cups  vegetable or chicken stock    500 mL

2  cloves garlic, minced  

1 cup kasha or buckwheat groats (see Tip) 250 mL

DRESSING

1⁄4 cup   red wine vinegar  60 mL

1 tsp Dijon mustard     5 mL

1⁄2 tsp   salt  2 mL

1⁄2 tsp   freshly ground black pepper   2 mL

3 tbsp   extra virgin olive oil  45 mL

2 cups   diced peeled cooked beets     500 mL

4  stalks celery, diced   

6  green onions, white part only, thinly sliced

1⁄2 cup  finely chopped parsley  125 mL

3 oz  crumbled feta cheese    90 g

1.   In a saucepan over medium-high heat, bring stock and garlic to a boil. Gradually add kasha, stirring constantly to prevent clumping. Reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer until all the liquid is absorbed and kasha is tender, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat. Fluff up with a fork and transfer to a serving bowl and let cool slightly.

2.   Dressing: In a small bowl, combine vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper, stirring until salt dissolves. Gradually whisk in olive oil until blended. Add to kasha and toss well.

3.   Add beets, celery and green onions to kasha and toss again. Chill until ready to serve. Just before serving, garnish with parsley and sprinkle feta over top. Makes 6 to 8 side servings

Excerpted from The Complete Gluten-Free Whole Grains Cookbook by Judith Finlayson © 2013 www.robertrose.ca  

Shared here with permission of the publisher. May not be reprinted without publisher permission.

 

 

9 responses

  1. I love the look of this salad. I love Beets, I have never heard of Kasha. I would have to hunt for it and I will. I like Quinoa and all that kind of thing. The wheat belly is a very real thing. As soon as I eat more carbs i notice it on myself. gluten free homemade is ok, But most other store bought gluten free items are just full of gums to stop the bread from being as dense as a brick. People are fooling themselves with this whole gluten free thing- It sounds so healthy and like a smart choice when it isn’t (in the store). I am no nutritionist or anything though! I will look for this Kasha, Is it high in protein like quinoa?

  2. This is an excellent review. The salad was very good. And it is healthier to cut down on wheat, I agree.

  3. Hi Garden, I couldn’t agree more. And one of the things I like about this cookbook, it’s based on healthy ingredients not a lot of “junk” starches that is the case with so many gluten-free cookbooks I’ve checked out and yes, also the store bought breads and such.

    It really pays in so many ways to read those ingredient lists.

    Kasha is available at any natural food store, usually in the bulk section. It has a delicious, nutty flavour and cooks quickly. Let me know if you try this recipe.

    Hi Joe, The salad was great, I’ll have to make it again soon.

    Happy Week, G

  4. it does look delicious and know that I know that my stomach problems has nothing to do with what I eat,I can eat anything….i might have to go see the past recipes, I got to start slowly, I’m not a cook sigh..

  5. jenmuddybootdreams

    That does look delish…at first I thought I have not had kasha…maybe not, but I have buckwheat noodles and I love them.

    The Giovanii hair gel is available at some of the health food stores in Vernon…do you have a larger store near you that might carry it? One small one in our town, said she doesn’t carry it because she needs to carry the entire line then, but that’s not the case at medium sized ones.

    Hope you can find it soon.

    Jen

  6. jenmuddybootdreams

    Oh, BTW I love beets too, they are underrated for sure.

    Jen

  7. The salad looks so appetizing! Thanks, Geraldine! I’ll try it with quinoa, because I already have some at home, and I want to try it tonight. Beets are very healthy – and I love the colour!
    Happy Wednesday to you too!
    xoxoxo

  8. I’m going to start very slowly I don’t eat well,, and I found out that nothing I eat makes a difference because my problems stems from a too-highThyroid, so Imight as well eat well, I love soy, I stopped ’cause I thought there the cause of the too frequent washroom run literally , sorry

  9. Hi Lorraine, I could eat salads every day, so many types to enjoy! And this one has it all, tastes wonderful, full of healthy ingredients and it’s so colorful. As I said above, would be great for a picnic or potluck. I haven’t been to a potluck in too many years, I’ll have to find one and keep this salad in mind to bring. 😉 Let me know if you give this recipe a try.

    Hi Jen, Kasha is so delish and easy, quick to cook, it really adds to this salad. Thanks for the heads-up re: Gio Gel. Don’t know why I didn’t hear from their customer service dept. about local suppliers. IMO this hair gel should be sold everywhere, its so good! I know you’d agree. 🙂

    Hi Vesper, I hope you’ll stop by again and tell us how you enjoyed the salad!

    Happy Cooking and Long Weekend (Canadians!), G

Thanks so much for your comments!