Knit (Seed Stitch) Kindle Cover

kindle cover for post 1

I recently got my first ereader, a Kindle Paperwhite as an early birthday gift. I’m an April baby! 😉

I am so loving my Kindle!

In spite of not wanting any kind of ereader for a looooong time, the Kindle Paperwhite has changed my mind about ereaders and in a big way.

You can read my full review of the Kindle Paperwhite here.

I also knit a cover for my new ereader, using a pattern I found over at Ravelry.

Laura, the designer has graciously provided a PDF of the pattern: Kindle_Cover

kindle cover for post 2

Just seed/moss stitch throughout, knitting in the round  (p the k and k the p) to form this lovely, textural yarn fabric.

I used some wool from my stash. This yarn color is Fire Tweed by Lopi.

The only thing I should have changed is to make it an inch shorter than the pattern. If you decide to make one of these, measure your own ereader and make the cover (up to flap) just 1/2″ more  than the length of your ereader so it fits snugly. It will stretch a bit too, with repeated use.

Another tip, if using a wool yarn for this project, DO give it a soak in a wool/delicate wash detergent after making the cover and before using it, to soften up the yarn. I use Eucalan (click to read my review of that great product) and it softened up this yarn beautifully.

 Wool yarns can be a bit rough and you wouldn’t want to scratch the screen of your ereader.

Now my Kindle is not only fun to use, it’s also protected in it’s own unique cover, when not in use.

Who needs to spend $20. +  for one of the generic covers that are for sale, for ereaders? 

Happy Knitting! 🙂

7 responses

  1. thesmittenimage

    What a creative idea. Now that’s love! I recently received an ereader/tablet as a gift and though I resisted ebooks at first, I’m quite liking it now.

  2. Looking good. I am not at all surprised you knit a jacket for your reader. I like the color.

  3. You did a great job with this Kindle cover. It really is one of a kind.

  4. yes yes i must admit i am so envious, guilty I’m an April baby too, nobody sends me anything, unless i buy it myself, but admittedly you deserve it, no doubt about it

  5. What a great cover; the color is fantastic! Your Kindle will be as snug as a bug in a rug. Hugs! 🙂

  6. So cool, Geraldine. Lovely idea. By the by – what’s it like reading on a Kindle?

  7. Hi Hilary, I feel the same way about my Kindle. Never say never eh! I have completely changed my mind about ereaders after getting my Kindle, I love it!

    Hi Teri, Thanks Teri, I love this tweed yarn, it’s a beautiful deep red with aqua, orange and purple ‘specks’ throughout. It also is nice and cushiony, in case I do drop my Kindle. 😉

    Hi Joe, The best part of making it yourself!

    Hi Lorraine, Ahh…another April baby, such a lovely month to be born I think, when everything in nature is coming back to life. I hope this birthday brings you lots of goodies! And remember that “haul” you had a XMAS, not too shabby. 😉

    Hi Ruinwen, It’s a simple pattern but effective. And practical with the texture of the seed stitch. I am so loving seeing your new projects too!

    Hi Talon, Thanks Talon. I left a link over at your blog for my Kindle review. I hope that’s helpful.

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!