It Starts With A Ball of Yarn…

These are just some of the many yarn projects I have completed, in the past few years.

Crafting from yarn is always a joy for me. 🙂

Crocheting and knitting are two of the most rewarding and relaxing hobbies I have ever pursued.

 The interest in yarn crafts is at an all-time high right now and there’s no sign of that declining. And for good reason. Crocheting/knitting can be a very meditative experience.Many beautiful and quality items can be made for a reasonable price.

A hand knit or crochet gift is so special. It could even become a treasured family heirloom. Until you’ve experienced the process of taking yarn, working with it, following a pattern (or one you make yourself)and then seeing the finished project, you will only then understand the satisfaction of this  wonderful, creative experience. The popularity of yarn crafts for people of all ages is proof of that too!

If you need help getting started there are oodles of free online patterns, instructional videos, classes and knit/crochet groups are gathering in homes and classrooms, all over the world. And a great way to connect with new friends, wherever you live. Lion Brand is just one of many,online resource with hundreds of free patterns, instructional videos, a good selection of yarns, tools and much more.It’s easier than you might think to get started.

 When I tried crochet for the first time many years ago, I ended up learning just from practicing and following photos in a crochet book. I didn’t know any other “south-paws” who were “hookers” LOL at the time. When I’d watch a right-handed person crochet, it always looked so awkward and confusing. So with determination and hook in hand, I stayed up most of one night and finally “got it” myself.

The crochet granny square throw (first photo in  the collage above) was my first real attempt at crochet. I still have and use this lovely blanket.

Here’s to the Joy of Creating With Yarn!!!
                            

PS: This is a revised version of a previous post I shared at one of my former blogs: Take a Happy Break. I hope you enjoy it for the first time, or as an encore read! 😉

8 responses

  1. Wonderful hobbies. I have a number of beautiful knit gifts from you that I love. Great collage too.

  2. Granny likes to crochet, but she can’t find the move to start or to finish, when she has started something..sigh… I, on the other hand, like to unravel, maybe that’s why…. 😉 Pawkisses for a wonderful week ahead and one extra for Mr Cheddar 🙂 ❤

  3. I wish I could! You’ve made some nice creations.

  4. I agree Joe, handmade (from the heart) gifts are the very best. 🙂 I like making AND receiving them too.

    Oh Angel, I’m sure you are a puuuurrrrrfect unraveller!!! 😉 So is Mr. C, he excels at that fine art. Headbonks to you and a hug to your Meowmie.

    I’m sure you could learn to knit or crochet Lady Fi, you are a very creative person too.

    Hugs and Happy Friday, G

  5. Thank you for your likes of my blog posts. You are very kind.

  6. I love the myriad of projects and colors! My eyes keep getting drawn in to those slippers…they are so pretty. 🙂

  7. You are welcome, ETS. Your blog is very informative.

    Thanks Ruinwen. I loved those slippers but they are worn out now and recycled! I wore them a LOT. 😉

    Happy Crafting and Weekend, G

  8. My mom made those slippers! I’d forgotten about them until now.

Thanks so much for your comments!

