Are You a Multi-Tasker? (I AM!!!) ;-)

No, I can’t juggle (but Joe can) 🙂 but I DO ♥ to multi-task!

                                                       

I’m happiest when I’ve got at least two (sometimes more) tasks on the go, at the same time.
                              
As an example: I often find myself : on the phone, writing a report/list/letter… and eating, all at once. I seem to manage just fine, when it comes to multi-tasking.
 
Doing one thing at a time always seems so SLOW to me! 😉
 
I’m usually trying to cram as much into each day as I can; especially when I’m feeling really energetic. And multi-tasking also makes me feel more energetic!
 
But, it seems that multi-tasking is not the best idea/strategy; at least according to a number of articles and posts I’ve been reading recently.
 
***
These is just a sample of dozens I noted online: 
-An article at the UK Daily Mail about the physical effects of multi-tasking.
-Another article from About.com about multi-tasking vs “chunking”
Chunking sounds like it might be a good idea, at least at times.
 ***
What do you think about multi-tasking? Do you multi-task on a regular basis?
                ***          
Photo courtesy of Flickr
PS: A version of this post was also shared at my one of my other, earlier blogs: Take a Happy Break. I thought it was worthy of an encore here. 😉
6 responses

  1. The only way that I can get everything done is to multi-task. She said writing a comment while petting the cat and mentally organizing dinner. Hugs! 🙂

  2. Yes, I tend to multi task, especially when on the phone, I could be doing the dishes or putting things away. I don’t think it’s always such a good thing. I really should concentrate more on on thing and do it mindfully rather than always being in a rush to get things done. 🙂

  3. Ruinwen, Multi-tasking just feels so “normal” to me. When I do one thing at a time, it seems so sllllllooooowww! 😉 I feel the same way, about getting it all done, but according to so many articles, multi-tasking is, in reality, not as productive as focusing on one thing completely, at a time. I don’t know….it would be awfully hard for me to change that much! LOL

    Being in the moment, being mindful, is so important Carol. And yes, obviously if we are multi-tasking, we aren’t really as focused as we should be, on any particular task or thing. Again as I’ve said above, I don’t know if I can change that much but maybe cut back on the amount of multi-TASKS to take on at one time. 2 vs 3 or 4! 😉

    Happy Week, G

  4. I’m wired to start something, see it to completion, then do something else. However, with household tasks, I do have laundry going while I wash dishes, etc. One job drove me crazy–I had to stop in the midst of reconciling bank accounts and statements to cover others for lunches and breaks, or other things that might be needed to be done. Frustrated me to no end.

  5. You are very good at multi-tasking. Some people just can’t do this without messing things up in the process.

  6. Yes, I don’t know anything except to multi task. Do I make mistakes when I’m cooking, talking on the phone, feeding the baby, and playing games with the preschooler all at the same time? Of course!

Thanks so much for your comments!

