How Do I ♥ My Slow Cooker…

slow cooker

….let me count the ways! 😉

-I ♥ how many types of recipes I can make in it.

-I ♥ how I can “set it and forget it” and free up time to do something else.

-I ♥ the oh-so-tasty and consistently good results.

-I ♥ that it’s energy efficient.

-I ♥ that foods cooked in a slow cooker are often healthier than when using other types of cooking methods.

– I love cooking once and enjoy twice. There’s usually plenty of yummy leftovers. 

the list goes on and on! 

Here’s my review of the Hamilton Beach 6 QT. slow cooker that I use all the time, pictured above. 🙂

And some of my fav slow cooker recipes for you to enjoy too!

-Moroccan Vegetable Stew with Fragrant Orange Basmati Rice  (from the Groovy Green Kitchen Volume I)

-Southern Nights Slow Cooker Veggie-Sausage Gumbo(sample recipe from the Groovy Green Kitchen II)

PS: I’m on the home stretch for the Groovy Green Kitchen II! Will be available at Amazon by the end of February. 🙂

-Slow Cooker Party Mix

-Sweet Potato Lasagna

-Slow Cooker Granola

Do you have a slow cooker? Do you ♥ yours too? Any fav recipes to share?

Happy SLOW Cooking! 😉

7 responses

  1. I love using a slow cooker for the same reasons you give: set it and forget it.
    Your Moroccan vegetable stew sounds yummy. Thanks for this. Slow cookers are particularly great during the winter months. 🙂

  2. Aren’t they the best? My fav kitchen appliance. 🙂

    The Moroccan stew is from the Groovy Green Kitchen I, Carol. You have made this one already (when you daughter was over for dinner) as you mentioned it in a review at Amazon! As I remember, you really liked it a lot! 😉 Hope you enjoy it again soon.

  3. I love all these recipes. And yes, the Moroccan stew is delicious.

  4. Oh these recipes sound so delicious! I love my crockpot too! I use it to soak beans instead of buying the high sodium canned kind. Have you ever tried to make oatmeal in yours? Highly suggested so you don’t have to worry about making anything early in the morning!

  5. So many delicious recipes!

  6. I love them all too Joe! I’ll have to make the Moroccan Stew again soon. 😉

    GenKitty, Sad to say, I loathe oatmeal on it’s own. In a cookie, great, in a bowl, it just doesn’t appeal to me. I know a lot of people who use their slow cooker to make oatmeal though. another use for this versatile appliance. Thanks for sharing these tips! 😉

    Thanks Lady Fi, hope you’ll give them a try.

    Happy Slow Cooking, G

  7. Thanks for reminding me to use my slow cooker! I do love it but got out of the habit. I look forward to trying some of your recipes Geraldine 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

