Are You In For Screen-Free Week: May 5-11?

screen free week photo

I’ve been thinking about taking a week (almost) offline for a while now and lo and behold, happened to read about  Screen Free Week  a couple of days ago.

Talk about perfect timing! 🙂 

This is NOT about totally going screen free but rather not using your computers, smart phones etc…for a week, for any type of entertainment purposes.

You can read more about this global movement at:  

International Screen Free Week. 

I’m planning to limit my own computer time each day for the next week to one hour tops, just to get through essentials.

I’ve got tons of offline stuff I’ve been wanting to catch-up with, so I think this is going to work just fine.

I know from a recent computer meltdown that going completely computer- free is not all that workable anymore.The email “pile up”  afterwards was quite stressful. But I’m a fast typist so when I’m in speed mode, I can get through a lot in an hour online.

Are you planning to join in for International Screen- Free Week? 

See you in a week. I hope it’s a good and “non-techie” one for you too! 😉

9 responses

  1. This is a wonderful idea. Once a month wouldn’t be bad either. Sigh. I’ve only been back here a short time but I’m ready for some down time but probably won’t do it. Yet.
    ~(*_*)~~

  2. A week! That’s a lot! I think even a day would challenge a lot of people! Sounds interesting, although not for me this week – this kind of thing takes some serious planning I feel. But definitely a worthwhile challenge, and I’d love to hear how you get on, so make sure you post back to tell us all about it!

  3. Interesting ! But I have just decided to clear my pile of drafts this week 😉

  4. I think this is a great idea. For adults and especially for kids. Too many younger people seem addicted to their gadgets now. They are missing out on so much fun and it’s not healthy either.

  5. I can just imagine your catch-up pile Tess, after your recent trip. Just chip away at it slowly. 😉

    Welcome Treading…I will still be checking in with my email accts. during this upcoming week but I do plan to stick to my “one hour rule” to do what I can during that time and leave the rest til the next day.

    I’m looking forward to a screen-free break, it sounds great to me. Good way to give our eyes a much-needed rest too. Staring at computers, kindles, etc..for hours at a time, day after day is NOT a good idea.

    Sounds like a good amount of work to get through in a week, good luck with that. I love your blog name: Young at 50! 🙂

    I hope that a lot of kids do get involved with this too Joe. Sounds like a very popular initiative from what I’ve been reading. I think they are missing out on so much too, when they don’t get outside and play lots! The screens and gadgets can wait. Being a kid should be about lots of fresh air, play time, exploring…and keeping fit in fun ways.

    Happy Week to All, G

  6. When we were on vacation a couple of weeks ago, I was MOSTLY screen free – went online once that week, I think. Still have not caught up on blog reading – perhaps a sign I follow too many wonderful blogs? But I love them all? How to trim the list? But otherwise, it was remarkably freeing. I’ll do it again, but on my own schedule. 🙂

  7. It looks like I’m going to be forced away from the screen for a wee bit. Too much going on!

  8. my laptop did it for me….geeze what a mess until my son came over , the expert, and put everything as it should be…..what a relief

  9. Hi Salpal, I did pretty good last week too. I only checked my email every day, did a couple of things that had to be done that week and stayed offline otherwise. I missed it though, reading on my Kindle too. Thanks for stopping in.

    Hi Patti, A break can be a very good thing.

    Hi Lorraine, I’m glad your son was there for you Lorraine and that he was able to sort things out.

    Happy Week to All, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

