Knitting: A Lot More Than Just FUN! ;-)

fruit slices socks for post 1

I came across a very interesting article today, at the Tree Hugger site re: the many benefits of knitting.

Not only is it great for stress relief which I did know about, it actually helps in a lot of other ways, to keep us healthy.

**Click to read the post here.**

So, the next time you are trying to justify another trip to your LYS or an online yarn splurge, remember it’s not just fun, it’s so good for your health too.

That’s certainly enough of a reason for me! 😉

Happy Crafting! 

10 responses

  1. I used to knit quit a bit. Mostly baby clothes (sweaters and blankets) because the results were quick.
    I don’t know what made me stop knitting. Life? But I can see the benefits as described in The Tree Hugger. Besides these benefits there’s nothing like a home knitted sweater. It just feels so much cozier 🙂

  2. And that’s the truth. When my daughter became pregnant with my first grandchild, I took to knitting sofa throw blankets like a bee to honey. I have no idea how I did that out of the blue and it was relaxing and all the rest. Hadn’t knit for years and years. 🙂

    I haven’t a clue how to leave a comment on reblogged post. 😦

  3. There are a lot of benefits to knitting not to mention the great gifts I got so far.

  4. i believe that, every time I knit I end up laughing, laughing is good for you lol

  5. I think we should all remind ourselves of the benefit of knitting, especially the part about taking time out from our busy lives. Technology is both an asset and a disadvantage at times.

  6. I knew it! *goes back to knitting for the rest of the afternoon*

  7. Reblogged this on kellwillknit and commented:
    I follow the Veggies, Yarns & Tails blog where I found this post and just had to blog about it.

    It’s true! I definitely need knitting and crochet to help me with anxiety and stress. If I don’t get some crafting into my day, I can tell a difference in my mood.

    I read an article last year that talked about the brain and how it’s unable to focus on worry or stress when you’re involved in repetitive motions, like with knitting or crochet. Your blood pressure decreases and your breathing has a regular pattern about it (which helps with anxiety).

    For me, not only is the act of knitting and crocheting fun and satisfying, but I also enjoy making items for others. The benefit of having something tangible that someone can use, and making them happy too, releases dopamine. Everyone feels good!

    Knit On!

  8. Thanks Violet. Love your avatar image. 🙂

    There’s nothing like handmade (anything) I agree Carol, especially a nice, soft sweater. Love it!

    You have many talents Tess, I’m not surprised that you picked up knitting so easily. Maybe you’ll be inspired to get back to it? Take a project on your upcoming big trip perhaps? 😉

    I agree Joe!

    It certainly is Lorraine, we can never have enough laughter either.

    Thanks for your insightful comment Tinaor and welcome to Veggies!

    Always a good plan LaGran. 😉

    Thanks so much for the reblog Kelli! 🙂

    Happy Thursday and to quote Kelli: KNIT ON!!!! G

  9. GOOD TO KNOW!! I wish i could get my boys to knit!

Thanks so much for your comments!

