Shiny Pennies and a Lucky Penny Pouch Update

pennies

If you’ve ever wondered how to clean pennies to make them look shiny and (almost) new again, here’s what I found works best:

Soak pennies in a glass container (I used a jar so I could give them a shake) containing 1/4 C. white vinegar and 1 tsp. plain table salt. Allow to soak for about 20 minutes.

Remove from solution and rub each penny with a paste of baking soda mixed with water, if they aren’t clean enough after the soak process. I used a soft rag for this step.

Worked great! 😉

So now that I have all these nice shiny pennies, I find that I DON’T have enough time to continue to make the penny pouches I was using them in.

Just not enough hours in the day!

little purses 1

I’m just finishing up the orders I already have and that’s it for Lucky Penny Pouches for now.

Thanks to everyone who did order pouches.

Last orders will be in the mail by the end of this week.

I still have that big stash of leftover yarn staring at me but it will have to wait. 😉

What craft projects are you currently working on? Do share.

I love to hear about all types of creative pursuits.

Happy Crafting! 🙂

Pennies photo courtesy of Flickr

10 responses

  1. We have no copper coins here, but I remember the time I would have loved to shine the pennies, and more especially the tiny farthings. You are right, Geraldine, there aren’t enough hours in the day.

    I have just started reading your book on Kindle. Only done the first two pages so far…. more later.

  2. you know harperites took the penny outta circulation… now, you’ll have to make nickle bags …

    oooooops, that’s what they used to call some marijuana bags, years ago 😦

  3. your pennies are so beautiful
    as are your pouches

    don’t worry about the duplicate messages, that just happens once in a while
    lovely days and nights to you ~

  4. These are such cool little penny pouches. I have a Night Moves one (the black one in the photo) and I love it.

  5. Hi Val, We actually found a farthing in the change here, at one of the stores. A mini penny! Keep tapping those pages. 😉

    Hi Laughing, Ahh…a canuck stopping by, I wondered about that Harper ref. 😉 And yes, I am familiar with the term “nickle bag” my youthful, silly days come to mind. 🙂

    Hi Tammie, I’m glad you like the pouches! And yes, I was so surprised when the duplicates came up as the comment didn’t seem to go through. And what has Blogger done with the trash can. 😦 Nice to “see” you here again.

    Hi Joe, I feel luckier when I wear mine, do you? 😉

    Happy Week, G

  6. So cute and such a lovely idea Geraldine. Yeah, know about the time thing as well. We need a ‘time stretcher thingy’ that we can switch on and off. LOL!

  7. These are so cute..I m a crafter too:)

  8. I’m so glad I got it in time can’t wait I think I’ll buy a lottery ticket

  9. Hi Sonel, I agree, if you find one of those “stretcher-thingeys” do let me know. 😉

    Hi Susann, Welcome to Veggies…and thanks for sharing your work too.

    Hi Lorraine, Hopefully Canada Post will cooperate and it will arrive soon. I’m going to the PO on Friday.

    Happy Wednesday, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

