Another Yarn Color Question!

FEFI back

As I blogged about previously here, I’m planning to make another Fair Isle cardigan but have been debating about the colors and yarn I want to use.

I’ve finally settled on Willow Down in the lovely pale yellow color below, for the main color.

It’s a bamboo yarn, very soft, plushy but light-weight. I think it’s going to work out great.

What I can’t decide on are the 3 contrast colors to go with the yellow. 

As you can see above in the knit pattern, it looks good to have a definite contrast for the colors.

If you’d like to share your opinion, choose 3 colors from the 12 below, and leave the numbers in a comment.

I’d really appreciate your feedback!

Hatchling

YELLOW FOR THE MAIN COLOR

For the 3 contrast colors:

DoveEgretGoosePromiseRobin's Egg

1.                             2.                              3.                              4.                              5.

 StarlingCardinalHummingbirdBirdbathPeacock
6.                          7.                               8.                             9.                               10.

             Flamingo   First Flight
                11.                                    12.

Happy Knitting.

I hope I am again soon! 🙂

PS: Sorry for the wonky formatting.
WordPress would only let me go so far, with my copy and paste project. 😉
17 responses

  1. I think 3 & 6 would look nice. 😀

  2. 11 and 10 for me … I look forward to viewing photos no matter the color you choose!!

  3. Thanks for the suggestions Jackie and Becca. I need 3 for the contrast colors, any ideas for another one to go with your picks?

  4. Whoops! You did say three in your post. The third color I’d pick is 8. So that’s 3, 6, & 8.

  5. 1, 2 & 8

    but i am a guy so what do i know…smiles.

  6. Hi Jackie, Thanks for pick number 3. 😉

    Hi Brian, You know what ya like Brian and I’m sure you’ve got an eye for color!

    Hi Lorraine, Thanks L!

    keep them coming! interesting color mixes so far, thank you! G

  7. 8, 10 and 12 for me. Hope we get to see the finished product.

    Today’s story might interest you, Geraldine.

    <a href="http://allsortsforallsorts.blogspot.co.uk/2013/06/solitary-confinement-repeat.html

  8. I like 4, 5 & 8 🙂

  9. 3,4,10 are my picks.

    it’s cool how the colors enlarge when you click them.

  10. I like 1,5 & 9. Always liked blue & yellow together.

  11. Hi Val, Thanks for your picks and for the story link. I loved it! You rock at this genre!

    Hi Annie, Welcome to Veggies and thanks for your suggestions. Yes, I will definitely share when completed but this will take me a while. Don’t have the yarn yet either LOL. But this is my next big yarn project, I really want to see it in another color, I love the first one so much.

    Hi Joe, I just noted that too re: enlarging. 😉

    Hi LadyCat, Love your blog name btw! It’s going to be hard to decide. 😉

  12. PS: The sharing comment above was actually in reply to Val’s. 😉

  13. As I looked at this, 1, 5, and 11 yelled out, “Pick me, pick me.”
    Love your finished one.

  14. OK, Now that I’m here, after clicking on the link in my blog which I found after first replied I have to say, I like the green, blue, black and red colors, 4,5,6 & 7 colors best with the soft pretty yellow. Lemon yellow is my favorite color, so I like the soft pale yellow yarn. Very pretty and will make a pretty sweater or cardigan, you’re making? i sure wish I could knit or crochet. My sisters do crochet and one can knit. My mother did beautiful work in both and did some very pretty afghans for us girls and others. My mom taught us girls how to sew but when we I tried to teach it to my girls and my sisters tried teaching theirs, not all their girls like mine wanted to learn, so who gets stuck with doing all the alterations and repair on clothes? Us older moms and grandmas. 🙂

  15. I like 1, 3, and 12…keeping it very soft in color. But that’s just me. 🙂 What a gorgeous piece it will be, Geraldine!

  16. Hi Teri, LOL re: the colors! Thanks for your kind words too.

    Hi Joyce, You really should give knitting or crocheting a try. Why not now? There are so many youtube videos, ebooks etc, that explain how to knit/crochet and most places have local knit groups too. It’s SO much fun, so relaxing too in a zen sort of way. I get lost in knitting and let go of any stress I might be experiencing. I hope you give it a try, let me know!

    Hi Talon, Interesting picks Talon, thank you! I think it will be very nice too and not as hard hopefully as the first time around. There was a couple of errors in the pattern and adjustments I had to make so that’s all out of the way. Now I just have to make my final color picks! 😉

    Happy Crafting, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

