Back to Sewing!

I’ve always loved to sew, but in recent years haven’t been sewing nearly as much as I used to.

Where we live now, I don’t have a lot of room to set up my sewing machine etc. and leave it out, which is how I like to work.

But I recently decided to ignore my current work environment,  😉 get out the scissors, thread and fabric and get to it again!

sewing post 1

My trusty Singer sewing machine!

sewing post 2

sewing post 4

Here’s the project I’m working on currently, a pair of “fun” pajamas for me!

sewing post 5

Isn’t this a cute print?  Such a nice soft cotton too.

I’m also making the camisole in a solid green cotton, to go with the PJ’s.

sewing post 3

When I get the pajamas finished, I’m planning to make this lined tote-bag next. Something I could really use! Not sure of the fabric yet.

Do you like to sew? If you’re making something now, do share!

Happy Crafting. 🙂

11 responses

  1. Right! You don’t need room. You need ambition. 🙂 That is my next project for sewing too. Working on PJ’s. Something that will make me feel sexy, girly and with frills. Can’t wait to find something. Can’t wait to see the end result of yours.

  2. I’m glad you got back to sewing. And you are such an awesome seamstress. And I love the shirts you’ve made for me, so special.

  3. Hey, finally I can so sew, sosew? anyhoo, buttons, anyway, that’s something!

  4. I was never a seamstress but I envy those who are. I did knit, though, when the fingers permitted but my great love was crochet.

  5. Hi Emma, Welcome to Veggies…I like your attitude! 🙂 So true, sometimes we just have to ignore a less than perfect environment to work in and JUST DO IT! Good luck with your PJ’s and I hope you’ll share your project online too.

    Hi Joe, Sewing was my fav hobby for such a long time and I still love it. It’s good to be back. 😉

    Hi Lorraine, I’m not crazy about hand sewing like mending, sewing on buttons etc, but I do it when the need arises. What I really love is to take a piece of fabric and turn it into something beautiful. It is a very relaxing, creative process. 🙂

    Hi Val, I love to crochet too, but haven’t had a crochet project for a while. I’m sorry you have problems with your fingers, that’s sad. 😦

    Happy Crafting, G

  6. that is a cute print…would be great for a little girls dress….my mom used to sew all the time…i can remember watching her create…

  7. Geraldine, this is so funny….I took out my sew machine and started on a table runner this week!!!!! Great minds. lol

  8. oh maybe I can try that, too bad I’ve so many clothes away, I would have love to sow it together, some of it any hoo….you gave something to think about, well you always do but nothing ever happens but I can sew…thank you

  9. Hi Brian, I’m using this fabric for my PJ’s ’cause I loved the fun print and it’s so bright and cheerful. It would make a cute little girl’s dress too, I think. My mom was a great seamstress too. I watched her sew lots of times too. Good memories. 🙂

    Hi Teri, Great minds indeed. I hope you’ll share your table runner at your blog when it’s complete.

    Hi Lorraine, I’m glad you can sew, it’s a great hobby and sooo relaxing.

    Happy Crafting, G

  10. I think it is great you are doing something that you love that you will be able to wear again and again! My Mom was a seamstress and made the most beautiful things for me to wear; including my wedding dress. Those PJ’s will be so adorable; I can’t wait to see them on you! Hugs! 🙂

  11. I’m an avid sewer and generally have my machine set up with a current project at the ready. Right now it’s some new cushion covers…box ones, so a bit tricky. But fun. Sewing is totally relaxing to me.

    Love that print, Geraldine!

Thanks so much for your comments!

