Retro (Fruit Slices) Knit Anklets

I’ve started knitting “real” socks LOL recently (thin, sock-weight type yarns) instead of the usual worsted weight patterns I’ve tried for socks in the past.

These are called Retro Anklets and they were featured in the book: Socks, Socks, Socks. This book is a collection of patterns from a contest and these were submitted in the historical socks category, which I thought was kind of cool.

I love how they turned out in the self-striping Paton’s Stretch Socks yarn that I used.

One of the issues I had in the past knitting with DPN’s and thin yarns was being able to keep the yarn loops from slipping off the ends of the needles. It’s not really a problem with this yarn though. It has a lot of stretch and the loops stay on the needles a lot better than with other yarns I’ve tried. I use wooden DPN’s btw.

If you’d like to read more about this pattern and you have a Ravelry account,  I’ve posted these socks with my projects over there: Ravelry page.

Speaking of Ravelry if you haven’t joined yet and are a crafter, it’s a great resource. So easy to navigate and add your yarn projects too, like an online craft diary. I wasn’t that excited about joining when Ravelry was first online, but now I just love it! Lots of free patterns and tips too. And interacting with other crafters and friends is another plus.

I’m working on another pair of socks right now, these in a mix of blues, greys and rust. I’ll share when those are completed too. I’m kind of proud of myself that I’ve finally mastered “real socks” !

My mom and I were always amazed by people who had the patience and  took the time to knit socks. But now I “get it” !

There really is something special about making and wearing them. Fit so much nicer than store-boughts too. 😉

Happy Knitting!

And if you’re crafting something right now, do share.

I ♥  to hear about other blogger’s projects. 🙂 

10 responses

  1. Geraldine,
    These turned out great!
    The colours are very pretty., and they do look comfy.
    You are very clever, I think. 🙂
    Brenda

  2. These are beautiful socks. Love how they are self striping too. You did a great job.

  3. Wow, are those knitted by hand?

  4. Hi Brenda, I’m really happy with these socks. Are you on Ravelry btw? Let me know if you are and I’ll check out your page over there. It’s a lot of fun! 🙂

    Hi Joe, Thanks dear.

    Hi Rumpy, Indeed they are. I was kind of impressed myself. But the yarn does a lot of the work, making stripes all by itself LOL. 😉

    Happy Crafting, G 🙂

  5. Hi, Geraldine,
    I’m wondering if you could give me some advice for posting with WordPress. Today I tried to publish a post (ART) wrote. It was typed with picures inserted, and the first time I tried to publish, and clicked on “Publish”, nothing happened. Then when I tried to see what had gone wrong, and left the post, I lost it completely. The 2nd time after rewriting the entire post (!!), I clicked on “Publish”, and it seemed to be working, but the icon just “swirled” indefinitely for over 1/2 hour. So when I left the post to read some Help instructions, again I lost the post. There seems to be no way of saving, or previewing posts. I think it’s just that I don’t quite know the ins and outs.
    I’m thinking of changing the guys’ post over to Blogger, as this is time consuming, and abit frustrating.
    Any help would be so appreciated.
    Brenda
    P.S. I’m not a member of Ravelry, it DOES look so interesting.

  6. Hi Brenda, Truth be told, I’m getting a bit frustrated myself with WP lately too! I’ll try to answer your ???’s

    When you type a post with WP, it’s important to press the save button as there is no auto-save feature on WP. I’ve done it myself, lost a post, because I forgot to save it, while I was writing the post. Again, before you preview, make sure to save the post.

    My “beef” with WP recently is that no matter how many times I’ve left spaces between lines on a post, they keep getting taken out, automatically, leaving text “scrunched” up looking, if it’s something that should have spaces between.

    Also, with certain presentations, the font color keeps reverting back to grey, not black, again I find that annoying and I don’t know why they’ve chosen a light grey for a default font color.

    I hope this helps a bit. I like WP in some ways, it’s where I started my blogging journey. But I agree, overall I think Blogger is more user friendly and no need to worry about saving posts while writing them, before publishing or scheduling.

    Let me know if you sign up for Ravelry!

    good luck with the posting, G

  7. They are absolutely stunning, I couldn’t join any knitting group I’d be an embarassment someone you hide in the basement, you are so gifted you amaze everyday…WOW G.

  8. Ger,
    Thanks for your answer to my question. Sorry, I didn’t get around to replying after reading yesterday.
    I’d like to try to make this work, as it is interesting to learn something new.
    When you say the “Save” button do you mean as on “File”?
    Thanks again!
    Brenda
    I think I should take more time to really read the How To’s, offered by WordPress

  9. Thanks for the link it really helped and then I destroyed, can’t I knit a scarf with just one needle I hate knitting back and forth between needles, it want only one needle that has alll the rows…I know I’m difficult lol Thank Godfor You

  10. Hi again Brenda, Sorry, I should have said “save draft” over to the right, as you are typing a post. Keep saving before you click away from the page for any reason, to preview etc….as WP does NOT auto save. It’s a real pain when a post goes “pffff” and off to cyberspace. I wish they would add autosave. Hope this helps.

    Hi Lorraine, You are so nice, thanks dear Lorraine. You can join me in a knitting group any time but the commute might be a bit pricey. 😉

    Hugs and Happy Week, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

