A Mr. Cheddar Pet Peeve Post: Pet Food Storage

Mr. Cheddar here.

Yes I know, I know….I do look extra handsome in that photo, don’t I??

What can I say…The camera does  me!  😉 One of my all-time fav publicity shots. No joshin’

Well, the summer heat is finally over and I’m feeling much friskier these days.

Thought it was high time that I shared another post too and this one’s about a topic near and dear to my heart: K-I-B-B-L-E!!!!

Probably my fav word in the whole wide world.

And speaking of that wonderful word, did you know that there is a right way and wrong way to store the oh so precious KIBBLE? Apparently there are a lot of humans out there who don’t know about this most important subject.

It was brought up (no pun intended… snort) in this recent first issue of The Scoop newsletter and written by the folks over at Petcurean who btw are the makers of some of my oh so fav foods: NOW and GO! I even wrote reviews about their fine products over at My Real Life Reviews a while back.  So when they talk, I listen!

Here’s the link to the newsletter including the blurb on pet food storage and some other interesting topics. Some excellent advice for cat-owned humans and oh yeah for canines too.

Meowmie says I gotta include that about the DOGS!!! 😉

Speaking of Meowmie, she has a couple of other points she’d like to add re: pet food storage.

Take it away Meowmie…but not the food bowl, ok!!!

I was so pleased to see this article re: pet food storage as I think it’s a topic that a lot of people don’t think much about. But rancidity is a real problem if pet food is not stored properly. One of the things I’d like to add in addition to the good info. provided by Petcurean is to buy only as much food at one time as a pet will consume in a reasonable length of time.

 I cringe when I see people buying huge bags of kibble at the pet stores, for only one or two pets.

Every time the bag is opened and closed, air gets in and freshness is compromised. It might cost a bit more to buy smaller bags but it is so worth it to keep our pets healthy. And as it says in the newsletter, pouring kibble into plastic containers is not a good idea either, it should be kept in it’s original packaging and sealed tightly between feedings.

I’d like to see a zip- top added to these bags. Maybe something the pet food manufacturers should consider.

Also, watch those expiry dates and take note of any change in color or smell of pet foods. Rancidity can be a serious threat to a pet’s health.

Mr. Cheddar and I hope you find this information helpful. And do pass it along!

 Chiao (make that chow) for now. 🙂 C and G

8 responses

  1. […] Mr. Cheddar and The Scoop on Pet Food Storage « VEGGIES … […]

  2. We actually had cat food to go rancid once, and we found out by the little gnats that we found inside….. ewwww!

  3. This is really a lovely picture of you Mr. Ched!
    Thanks for the helpful, and informative article on pet food storage. Interestingly, B did buy a lovely Rubbermaid storage BP free food storage container, but never thought of the fact that the plastic is porous, or the lid not very tight fitting. B keep’s the kibble in the fridge – we think it’s so that Artie won’t try to get into the kibble while sh’s at work.
    This article gave us some good “food” for thought. We’ll make sure B get’s a chance to read it.
    It’s great to see you back with another so informative post!!! 🙂
    Herb and Art

  4. Hi, sweet Ched, this is a purrrfect photo of you!!!!

    You always have such interesting posts, and this is a good one!
    I actually thought quite alot about food storage when Arthur came to live with us. I could no longer keep a bag of kibble sitting out on the kitchen floor, behind the door. He wasn’t abit shy about tearing into the bag, and helping himself.

    So, I first used a rubbermaid tote, but kept the kibble in the bag, inside the tote, because of BPA, and next I found a BPA free tote, and have been keeping it in the fridge. I like being able to just scoop with a cup, I keep in the tote. However, with the new ziplock closure on our Go kibble bag, this would be just as easy to keep the bag in the fridge.

    Thanks for the link to this interesting newsletter, and for the good “food” for thought.
    Hugs,
    Your friend, B

    P.S. Could you let your Meowmie know that I answered her question over on the comments at Mullin?

  5. Excellent post from the Chedster. And so true. It’s very important to store pet food properly and not buy huge amounts at one time. I note that too at the pet stores, about people buying large bags for only one or two pets.

  6. Hi Rumpy, Ewww…is right. Rancidity is not only gross but can be a serious threat to a pet’s health.

    Hi Pet Lover’s News, Thanks for sharing this post and this information. I hope Mr. Cheddar and i are helping to get the word out on this important, often overlooked topic.

    Hi Herb, Art and Brenda, Thanks for all your comments and input. I see a lot of these plastic kibble containers online and in stores. I think a lot of people are under the assumption it’s the best way to go. I’m glad to hear about the zip-lock bags, that’s great. Haven’t seen these locally yet but hopefully soon.

    Hi Joe, Oh, that really upsets me when someone’s talking about their one and only cat at a pet store and buying an enormous bag of kibble that would in reality last for months. I have said something about it when I could but you have to do it in a way not to offend a person. It’s important and for that reason, I take the chance and speak up, whenever this comes up and I can.

    Mr. Cheddar and I wish you a wonderful week, G and C 🙂

  7. No l ever though of that, thank you so much for the info, I’ll be more careful , now Ched can you tell mom I don’t remember how to cast on and I’m a real dummy and what to do after that…help and you look da handsome of all

  8. I can’t cast, I can’t knit and I have a feeling it would really help me

Thanks so much for your comments!

