My “Other” Bran Muffin Recipe

I ♥♥ bran muffins!

And based on the number of weekly visitors to this blog searching for bran muffin recipes, I’m in good company. 😉

I’ve posted this fav bran muffin recipe from Not Just for Vegetarians, a couple of times and it’s been a muffin recipe that I’ve had many good comments about, over the years.

My “other” bran muffin recipe from NJFV is one I don’t make that often. Don’t really know why, seem to always revert back to Extra-Easy, Extra Moist Bran Muffins.

But last week, thought I’d give my Quick and Easy Bran Muffins a go, with pecans and coconut added and a pecan on top of each one!

Yummm….these muffins have a slightly lighter texture than my “stand bys” but just as good overall. And no buttermilk or yogurt required, which I didn’t have on hand.

Not overly sweet either. Unlike a lot of commercial bran muffins (I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a really good commercial muffin, have you?)  and some recipes too; making these a healthier choice.

I’m including the recipe for Quick and Easy Bran Muffins on page 2.

If you give them a try or have already, let me know if you liked these muffins.

I’d like one right now actually but no baking today, just been too hot! Cooler temps. on the way though, can’t wait. 🙂

Happy Week and Happy Baking.

PS: Speaking of healthier choices: I just posted a new review of Jane Fonda’s Fit & Strong DVD, over at My Real Life Reviews. Hope you’ll stop by soon.

Quick and Easy Bran Muffins

(makes 8-10 muffins)

1 1/4 C. wheat bran

1 1/4 C. unbleached white flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 C. (total) chopped nuts, coconut, raisins,dried cranberries…your choice (opt.)

1 large egg, beaten

4 T. dark brown sugar (or a bit more to taste, don’t overdo though!)

1/4 C. molasses

1 1/4 C. milk

1/4 c. vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 400F. Thoroughly grease muffin tins or line with paper liners and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine first 5 dry ingredients and nuts/raisins… if using.

 In a small bowl combine remaining liquid ingredients. Add to dry mixture and stir just to combine, don’t overmix.

Spoon batter into muffin cups, filling 2/3 full or a bit more for larger muffins.

Bake 20-25 minutes. Reduce heat to 375F after first 10 minutes if browning too fast. Check with a toothpick inserted in center of a muffin which will come out clean when muffins are done.

Allow to cool 5 minutes before serving.

Variations: -Add the zest of 1 large orange to dry ingredients.

                      -Substitute 1/2 C. brown rice syrup for the brown sugar. Add 1/4 c. more of flour to retain proper consistency.

Recipe from: Not Just for Vegetarians. Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman.  Photo by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

4 responses

  1. Yummy I do love me some bran muffins! Sometimes I put raisins or carrots or cranberries…hmmm think I’ll make a batch this week , you got my mouth watering thinking about it!

  2. I love these, too. Thanks for the recipe and idea of adding pecans. We make ours in those tiny pans (makes24) and eat them by the handful.

  3. Aaaaahh…muuuuuuffins!!! Homer didn’t know what he was missing. These are delicious.

  4. Hi Cathy, I could eat bran muffins every day but only the homemade kind. As I said above, I have yet to find a really good commercial bran muffin and one that’s not loaded with sugar and fats too. I’m going to make another batch soon, as soon as it cools down a bit. It’s still hooooot here, how about you?

    Hi Sandy, That sounds like a cool idea. I’ve seen those mini muffin tins but don’t have them. Do they bake a lot quicker in these pans? I’m guessing they would.

    Hi Joe, Homer loved his donuts didn’t he? He was missing out LOL. 😉

    Happy Wednesday, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

