Mocha Pecan Ice Cream

                                              

I recently got my first automatic ice cream maker as a gift. What a great invention! And a money-saver too.

Even though it’s been far from ideal “ice cream weather” here in Interior BC; I’ve already made a couple of yummy batches. Heh, if you add a cup of coffee to the mix (love it!) ice cream can be just as good on a cooler day. 😉

And yes, it’s very rich but I only have a small portion at any given time. It’s so satisfying and yummy good.

I’ve always been a fan of all things: mocha.

 I did some tweaking with a couple of recipes I found online and came up with my own version of Mocha Pecan Ice Cream. Makes about 1.5 Qts.

This isn’t my own photo (thank goodness for Flickr!) as the batch I made was gone before I remembered to get a pic! LOL              

Here’s the oh so easy recipe:

Mocha Pecan Ice Cream

1 c. whipping cream (not whipped)

1/2 C. half and half/cereal cream

1/2 C. regular milk

1/3 c. white or raw fine sugar (add a bit more if you like it sweeter)

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1 T. instant coffee granules

1/4 C. melted dark chocolate

1 c. finely chopped pecans

Combine all ingredients except for the coffee granules , melted chocolate and pecans.

In a small bowl or cup, add the coffee granules to the melted chocolate and stir to combine thoroughly. Add to first mixture.

Chill mixture in the fridge until ready to make the ice cream.

Follow instructions as per ice cream maker manual.

Add the pecans during the last few minutes of churning time.

Freeze ice cream and get ready to enjoy an oh so yummy treat!

***

I also have an Ice Cream Lover’s Giveaway coming up at My Real Life Reviews in  early July. Stay tuned! 🙂

Photo courtesy of Flickr.

11 responses

  1. Looks good! I was looking at an ice cream maker in the King Arthur Flour catalog yesterday. Do you have to freeze the container for 24 hours?

  2. mmmmm…. ice cream!

  3. Oh, my this does look and sound delicious, Geraldine!
    What a nice gift to recieve!
    Brenda

  4. Hi Sandy, Yes, it does need to be in the freezer, for about 24 hours. No biggie though. And so worth it, when the ice cream is made. 🙂

    Hi Rumpy, I know a lot of doggies who love ice cream. Are you one of them? 😉

    Hi Brenda, Yes, a wonderful small appliance and so easy to use. I think we’ve bought our last carton of the store-bought kind.

    Happy Wednesday, G

  5. PS: My review of the Hamilton Beach Ice Cream Maker I used for this recipe is now posted at:

    http://www.myreallifereviews.com/2012/06/hamilton-beach-15-qt-ice-cream-maker.html

    A great little machine that will pay for itself in no time. 🙂

    Happy Weekend, G

  6. This ice cream is so good. Too bad it was gone so fast.

  7. This sounds yummy and easy enough to make … I have a frozen bowl but for some reason do not remember to use it — guess I will have to look for the machine part to make this! LOL 😀 Ray would love it — chocolate + coffee + nuts!! Winner in his book!

  8. This looks yummy!

  9. Hi SandyC, It’s very rich and very good. Especially when you love chocolate and coffee as much as I do LOL.

    Hi Joe, Yes, it disappeared much too fast, that’s true.

    Hi Becca, Yes, do find the missing part and give this a try Becca, you won’t be sorry.

    Hi Bongo, I’ve known a lot of ice cream loving doggies over the years. Are you? Loved your party hat today btw!

    Happy Weekend, G

  10. My favorite ice cream is black cherry. I love love love it! A close second is orange swirl or orange pineapple. Tastes just like the inside of a creamsicle ! lol but make my own?, nah I’m sure I don’t have the time, energy or inclination but it sure sounds YUMMY!

Thanks so much for your comments!

