The Best Gingersnap Cookies

                                                                                                            

This is one of my favorite basic cookie recipes.  The Best Gingersnap Cookies from Not Just for Vegetarians was a recipe that my friend Valerie’s mom shared with me and graciously allowed me to include in my cookbook.

I’ve tasted a lot of gingersnaps over the years and these always come in at #1!  Not too sweet either; just plain good. 😉

                                                                                                                                                                           

See complete recipe on page 2

Cookies and Desserts shown in photo:

 Oatmeal Chocolate Chews, Cranberry Mandarin Christmas Loaf, The Best Gingersnap Cookies, Kid’s Choice Cookies and Easy Chocolate Hazelnut Clusters

The Best Gingersnap Cookies

3/4 C. butter or good-quality non-whipped margarine

3/4-1 C. dark brown sugar (to taste)

1/4 (scant) C. molasses

1 large egg, beaten

2 C. unbleached white flour

1/2 tsp. EACH baking soda, ground cloves, sea salt

1 tsp. EACH ground ginger and cinnamon

1/2 C. (approx.) white sugar for rolling cookies in (opt.)

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Mix together all remaining ingredients except the white sugar and combine thoroughly with first mixture. Dough will be firm. Chill in the refridgerator for at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 F. (180C)

Shape dough into balls about the size of a whole walnut. Roll in white sugar if desired ( or leave plain) and place on a lightly greased baking sheet about 1″ apart. Do not flatten, the baking will do that for you!

Bake for 12-15 minutes, watch to prevent overbrowning.

These cookies freeze well too, if they last that long. 😉

Makes about 3 dozen cookies (depending on how big you make each ball)

Recipe from Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. Photo by Patricia Holdsworth Photography. All rights reserved.

7 responses

  1. I love gingersnaps! My mouth is watering.

  2. Yummy. These are delicious cookies. I’d like some right now.

  3. They look very delicious and I admire people who bakes. I just love to eat!

    Thank you for reading me and leaving your comments at my blog.

    Have a great day!

  4. I love gingersnaps … I have all the ingredients except the butter — may have to “run” to the store to get some! YUMMM!

  5. Hi SandyL, Hope you enjoy some of these soon!

    Hi Joe, I’d like one (make that two) right now too. 😉

    Hi Asni, And thanks for visiting at Veggies…too. Happy Eating! One of my fav pasttimes too lol.

    Hi Becca, So worth the trip to the store. Can’t beat homemade cookies!Let me know if you give these a try.

    Happy Baking, G 🙂

  6. This looks like a great recipe, and it’s nice to use special recipes from friends.
    I love the photo.
    Brenda

  7. Thank you so much, I love ginger snap cookies! You have made it easier for me to make my own…thanks for the blessing! God bless!

Thanks so much for your comments!

