A Long List of Oh So Cute Baby Hats to Make

              

I want to make a couple of baby hats for friends who are recent grans, for the first time.

Of course, the hats are actually for the babies, not my friends. LOL

I’ve been looking at some knitting blogs in search of those oh, so fun baby hat patterns that are “transformed” into things like strawberries, pumpkins…and found this post.

I thought it was very helpful and so nice that this blogger at ChemKnits took the time to assemble all these patterns in just one post.                

In case you’ve never seen one of these hats, here’s a photo of one from Flickr

                                                      

                               

So adorable I think!

And the only time in life any of us would actually look cute wearing a fruit or veggie hat. 🙂

I guess the guys who wear real hollowed-out watermelons at football games would tend to disagree. LOL 😉

Hope you find this pattern list helpful too.

Happy Knitting.

37 responses

  1. Geraldine,
    This hat IS cute, and would make a much appreciated gift I’m sure.
    That certainly is a generous list of baby hats – it seems like such a good post for anyone wanting to knit a hat for a special infant or two…
    Thanks for sharing this site, it looks interesting!
    I hope you will post pictures of a few of the hats you make?
    Have a good week, Geraldine!
    Brenda

  2. My grandson had a hat like that, but his was a blueberry! I have a photo of it, if I can find it, I will email it to you.

  3. You know, if you could find a pattern for a lady bug hat, I’d gladly pay you to make one for my Lia-bug! I know I’ll never be able to do it and I think a lady bug hat would be adorable!

  4. A lady bug coat for a dog would be adorable too lol

  5. That hat is darling. It would look so cute on a little one.

  6. Hi Brenda, I spend a lot of times searching for certain patterns etc online. It was great to find this extensive list so quickly, this time! I agree, very generous of the blog host over at ChemKnits.

    Hi SandyL, Oh, I hope you can find that pic! How adorable it must be. 🙂

    Hi Cathy, I’ve emailed you and left a comment about making Lia a hat. let me know what you think. Yes, a lady bug hat on her would be perfect! She’s such a cutie.

    Hi Bongo, A little person yes. What do you think of Cathy’s idea for a doggie coat. 😉

    Happy Week and Happy Knitting (if you are!) G

  7. I would give anything to be able to make a little beanie for my grandaughter that will be born in July! My first grandaughter… have two grandsons! But my hands won’t let me, they are all so cute… I took a look at all of the patterns! Oh G, they are so cute!

  8. This hat is so cute. And I agree about the ‘watermelon guys’ they look pretty goofey.

  9. Geraldine,
    Hi, there!
    Thanks for visiting today over at my blog.
    It’s always nice to hear from you!
    Today was plus 9 and perfectly wonderful and sunny. I went out waliking and wasn’t alone, people were out strolling with coats open just soaking up the warm sun.
    Most of the snow is gone, but enough was still available for lots of snowmen, somehow people are out making them and it feels like a celebration of snowmen.
    Over at Victoria Park there was a group of people making snowmen where the Occupiers had been, back in the fall, and it looked like a group of snowmen protestors. 🙂
    Herbert wants me to tell you to please don’t even consider making the Ched a strawberry hat! 🙂
    He says he bets Arthur will hog any mice you send to the guys, but that’s ok.
    Take care, Geraldine.
    Hugs,
    Brenda

  10. Hi Rachael, I left a comment about this over at your blog. 🙂

    Hi Joe, Watermelon heads are the goofiest!

    Hi Brenda, Wow, that is warm. Nice but unsettling too. It’s the Prairies, after all. The weather is changing so much and everywhere it seems. 😦

    Oh no, Chedster is definitely not going to have a strawberry to wear. But he does have something funny coming up for St. Paddy’s Day, I’m sure the guys there will love it! Mice to follow, hopefully I’ll nail down the right yarns soon. I’m trying for a nice mix in grey and a brown shade. Hope H and A approve!

    Happy Weekend, G

  11. ohhhh i love that hat!!!! too bad ya don’t crochet… id hafta think abt that one to make it crochet…. tho i do see to the right that you do have crochet sites…

  12. I LOVE THE PICTURE OF YOUR BEAUTIFUL KITTY CAT! MANY PEACE AND BLESSINGS TO YOU~

  13. I agree with you – adorable!!

  14. What an adorable hat. 🙂

  15. It’s adorable… thanks for sharing.. love your site… 🙂 have a fabulous day…

  16. Hi Ms. Pie, I do crochet and I’ve made some of these fun hats as gifts. If you can knit, you can learn to crochet. I love them both. How about you? Into yarn crafts? Nice to see you again.

    Hi Carol, Thank you and love and peace to you in return.

    Hi Celeste, Thanks for stopping in!

    Hi Imelda, I think they all are. If you click through, there’s a ton of patterns at that site for hats. so cool.

    Hi SGC, Welcome and thank you. always nice to see a canuck comment. 😉 We’re still kind of outnumbered on the blogs it seems.

    Happy Wednesday, G

  17. ah well maybe we will have to try and change that… 🙂

  18. Hey Geraldine, thank you for like my post. Where do you go to change your text size and
    color? I really need that. Good Night my friend

  19. i think your post is great!! It’s great when you share.. Thanks so much!!!!

  20. I don’t know if anyone has mentioned it but, check out ravelry.com it’s a great source for patterns of various kinds, including hats. Hope this helps.

  21. that is terribly adorable, if that makes sense. love it! thanks for all your likes!

  22. Oh my gosh it is the sweetest thing, utterly gorgeous. How lovely you are to do these ‘makes’ for your friends x

  23. With this chilly weather, that hat would do nicely for my Lab Casey. Add a few under-chin ties…

  24. red, white, blue Uncle Sam hat

  25. This is adorable. I wish I had a grandchild to give it to.

  26. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking one of my posts. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  27. OMG. I just noticed I have never hit the follow button for your blog. I’m sorry but am following now and thanks so much support my blog.

  28. I’m all for that SGC!

    Lady Peach, when you are in draft mode, there is the option at the top of the window to change text color and some size options. Toggle to show all the options. If you get stuck, WP should be able to help more.

    Thanks Craftcrazzee, I can SO relate to your blog name, I’m crazy about all kinds of crafts too.

    I totally agree Vonna, I love Ravelry. But I so need to update my page there. 😦

    Karyl, I agree, totally adorable and thanks for stopping by.

    I love to make handmade gifts, it’s a pleasure!!!

    Teehee, Casey may have different thoughts on that. 😉

    Aren’t you nice! Thanks Carolyn, I try.

    Thanks for following 2 of my blogs Carl and you know I love yours! 🙂

    Carol, No grandchild here either but I do love to knit for pals and their kids. Do you knit?

    And blessings back to you Natalie.

    Have a great week, glad I stopped in to read these comments missed before. Busy, busy…ya know. 😉

    Hugs, G

  29. Lovely strawberry hat. A better take on wearing fruit and veg as a hat – I couldn’t imagine keeping a ‘Carmen Miranda’ style one on!

  30. Reblogged this on VEGGIES, YARNS & TAILS and commented:

    This is one of the most popular posts recently at Veggies….on a consistent basis, with 1000’s of hits to date.
    In case you’ve been looking for that perfect baby hat to make , hopefully this list will give you some inspiration!
    I still think they are all “oh so cute”. 😉

    Have a great day and happy crafting! G

  31. Thank you for your like of my re-blog on Grief. You are very kind. Please have a wonderful day in Jesus.

  32. I love your blog; it is so very refreshing. Please keep up your good work.

  33. Thank you for your kind words and blessings back to you. 🙂

  34. Reblogged this on handmadehomemadeknitstitchdesign and commented:
    Always lovely to see more baby hat patterns. One day I shall make some to have in reserve for babies coming along – I always leave gift knitting to the last minute! Love the last pumpkin hat pattern in particular.

  35. Thank you for your like of my post “The Sabbath – The Holiness Of God.” You are very kind.

Thanks so much for your comments!

