Another Bread Redo: Bread Machine Cornell Bread

I recently noted several posts online about Cornell Bread which was a type of bread I had heard about as a kid.

In the land of “white bread” LOL from the grocery store and the occasional loaf of snowy white bread from the oven, this was a rather unique, almost radical idea at the time.

We never actually had a loaf of Cornell Bread back then so I decided to tweak the numerous Cornell Bread recipes I had seen online and came up with my own redo of this famous loaf. You can read more about the history of this bread and the original recipe here.

This easy to make redo of Cornell Bread is so delish! It has a beautiful crumb/texture, perfect for toast.

I made a large recipe (2lb.) loaf as it doesn’t last long here! Don’t overdo the yeast though or you will end up with the oh so frustrating “sinking loaf syndrome”.  😦  I use regular traditional yeast for all my bread machine breads and find it gives more consistently good results, than the types of “bread machine” yeast that are available.

Let me know if you give this one a try. It really is so good. Only one downside…1 slice is NEVER enough! 😉

(see page 2 for complete recipe)

My Cornell Bread Machine Redo

4 C. unbleached white bread flour OR 3 C. unbleached white flour and 1 C. whole wheat flour

4T. soy flour

4 T. non-fat instant milk powder

4 T. wheat germ

1 tsp. sea salt

3 T. honey

3 T. butter or good-quality non-whipped margarine

1  large free range egg, beaten

1 T. fresh lemon juice

1 1/2 C. warm water

1 1/2 tsp. Traditional type dry yeast.

Combine first 5 dry ingredients in a bowl. Combine remaining ingredients (except yeast) in a separate bowl or large cup and stir to combine thoroughly. Pour liquid ingredients into bread machine container, followed by the dry ingredients on top. Do not stir. Add yeast last, to keep from it getting wet before processing.

Set on Basic white bread setting, 2 lb. loaf, light or medium crust.

Prepare to enjoy the wonderful aroma first, wafting throughout your home. Makes it hard to wait for the bread! 😉

12 responses

  1. This bread is delicious. And so true, one slice is not enough.

  2. I could share a loaf of that with Mr. Cheddar. It looks yummy.

  3. I bet your house smelled wonderful while it was baking!
    I had a cake fall on my last week, well not on me, but before it was finished baking. Still tasted good, more like a brownie… ha

  4. Hi Joe, Waving that last slice goodbye LOL. 🙂 No worries, I’ll make another loaf this week. I’m rather addicted to this bread toasted, it seems.

    Hi Bongo, Oh Bongo, you have no idea how much the Ched loves bread, toast in particular. You guys would have a GREAT time with a loaf of this bread. Your tummies might not feel so good afterwards though. 😦

    Hi Tammie, I hate when that happens but I’m sure it was still yummy.

    Happy Weekend and Baking (if you are!) G

  5. My bread machine gave out a couple of years ago, can I make as is with my kitchen aid?

  6. I really miss the days of fresh bread cooking. My mom used to make 6 loaves a week when I was small and my dad would gobble up one while it was still warm from the oven, smothered in butter and then moan that his stomach was killing him but it never stopped him. He’d be hovering over her the following week lol

  7. This was interesting, Geraldine – I had never heard of Cornell bread, but it does sound good, and nutritious.
    Hmmm – I’m sure your house smelled good while this was baking!
    Herbert and Arthur haven’t shown interest in bread or toast – however they do like frozen yogourt pops. 🙂 Unfortunately these are not nearly as nutritious as this bread must be!
    Brenda

  8. Oops, I wanted to comment on your new look, I like the spring green background, and as well the photos at the top – especially the sweet picute of Mr. Ched!
    Brenda

  9. Hi Rachael, You could certainly try. I’ve adapted scratch recipes and made them in the bread machine and vice versa too. Let me know how it turns out if you do make this recipe.

    Hi Cathy, Oh what a fun memory to share, thank you! We used to do much the same thing at my grandma’s place. I can totally understand why your dad didn’t want to wait or eat one slice only!

    My grandma baked bread every day and loved to have company to feed. We were more than willing to eat and how!!! And yes, bread slathered with butter fresh from the oven, was one of our favs. 🙂

    Hi Brenda, It is a wonderful aroma and then the bread is so yummy. One of the best breads I’ve ever eaten actually. I worked on this recipe quite a bit to get it just right. Do you have a bread machine? such a worthwhile investment. We actually got ours free with some points from the local grocery store, so that was even better.

    So glad you like the new look. I designed this header a long time ago but it never worked with the wp themes in terms of the header size before. So happy I could finally use it.

    Happy Week, G 🙂

  10. I love love love love hot fresh bread — or any bread product for that matter — biscuits are my weakness … I don’t make homemade bread often … and picked up my machine because we were eating it too often … now I am tempted to pull it out again. Thank you for sharing … and for your visits to my niche. Have a blessed Thursday!

  11. Awsome website! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  12. Hi Becca, I love bread all kinds and I love making it the scratch method and also in the machine. I think you’d like this bread. It has a lovely texture and slightly sweet taste. This recipe makes a nice big loaf!

    I made some today and have only ‘devoured’ one slice so far but….the day isn’t over. LOL

    Hi Dell, Welcome and thanks for your kind words.

    Happy Baking, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

