Finally…. Fairly Easy Fair Isle!

Back in 2010 I wrote this post re: the Fairly Easy Fair Isle cardigan from Stitch and Bitch Nation, that I wanted to make.

Well, I finally am!

This is a cardigan that has been very popular around the knitting blogs for a long time and a pattern that is apparently a good way to start working with Fair Isle designs. This is my first attempt at any project like this and I admit, I’m a bit overwhelmed at this point, at the thought of actually getting it done.

But, I’ve tackled other patterns in the past that I thought would be challenging and I managed to work my way through to the end, most times.

And what a great feeling it is to ace a pattern that IS a challenge! 🙂

I am going to need some help with reading/working the colorworks charts for the yoke and sleeves of this cardigan. The knitting and construction itself, no problem. If anyone is reading this who did make this cardigan, I’d really appreciate any pointers and tips you could send my way. I am an absolute Fair Isle novice but not for long!!!

Here’s a photo of one of these cardigans in darker colors:

I went with spring colors for myself and in a yarn from synthetic fibers. I’m using Lion Brand Jiffy and I’m actually very happy with the quality of this yarn. I am trying to transition away from using wool and silk yarns these days. The cruelty aspect of production of these types of natural fibers, has really turned me off from wanting to use them. I love wool but I don’t love how many sheeps are treated to produce this product.

I choose these colors, what do you think? Made me think of spring! 😉        

       

Main Color: Jiffy Dusty Pink

The photo makes the color look a bit brighter than it is.

It’s actually a very pretty dusty rose color.

Main and contrast colors for Fair Isle design

I’m starting with the sleeves as they are worked on straight needles. I need to get another long circular needle to work the body of the sweater. And speaking of the circulars, I’ve gone over this pattern 3 times and I can’t see where the shorter circular needle is actually required? I’m not going to buy that one for now.

If anyone knows of a good site to view Fair Isle tutorials and how to read a chart, do let me know, thank you!  I need all the help I can get.

Wish me luck! 🙂

4 responses

  1. It is pretty. Pink and green, but hers were muted.

  2. I can imagine Fair Isle would be quite a challenge. Looking forward to photos of the finished sweater.

  3. Geraldine, These ARE pretty cplours!
    Good luck with the pattern, I’ll bet you manage the pattern in no time!
    I certainly think Fair Isle sweaters are lovely.
    This should be delightful to finish, and wear come spring!
    Can’t wait to see the finished sweater here!
    Brenda

  4. Sandy, I think part of your comment is missing. I think I know what you mean though.

    Bongo, Oh, I can’t wait to share them dear doggie! 🙂

    Brenda, Even prettier in reality. The main color is a beautiful dusty rose. I was really impressed with the quality of this yarn. Price too. I’m going to blog about the price variations I noted for Lion Brand Yarns soon. Big differences! I’m still trying to get some help with this, hopefully soon. Once I get started, I know I’ll cruise through this ’cause I want to see it finished, very much!

    Happy Week, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

