Red Cabbage! Don’t Ya Just Love it?

This time of year, cabbage in all colors is looking and tasting so great.

 I’ve always loved red/purple cabbage. I think it’s actually pretty! I especially like the design of the leaves, when a cabbage is cut in half, as in this photo. Another work of art from Mother Nature. 

I guess I need to get out more if a cabbage captures my attention this much! 😉

Another thing that’s great about cabbage is how much can be made with just one head for such a small amount of money too. I bought a medium-sized red cabbage last week and I made a big batch of Sweet and Sour Red Slaw, added it to a couple of large green salads and still had some left over.

I’m including the recipe for the Sweet and Sour Red Slaw from Not Just for Vegetarians on the next page of this post.

I only have a photo of this colorful coleslaw as it appears on the cover of my cookbook. It’s rather difficult to take food photos for me, right now. Not the best lighting to work with etc. 

This “slaw” has a sweet flavour with just a bit of tang from the ginger root and lemon. It goes with a number of main dishes beautifully. Pictured above with: Simply the Best “Meat” Loaf with Mushroom Gravy and Savory Cheddar Cheese Muffins, all from Not Just for Vegetarians.

This salad keeps well in the fridge for several days.

Hope you enjoy a batch soon! 🙂

Red cabbage photo courtesy of: Flickr

Sweet and Sour Red Slaw

A coleslaw variation that will add brilliant color and flavour to any meal.

Serves 4-6 generously.

1/2 C. yellow Sultana raisins

1 medium sweet onion, finely diced

2 large unpeeled Granny Smith apples, finely diced

1-2 T. grated fresh ginger root, to taste

2 stalks celery, finely diced

1/2 large red cabbage, finely shredded (a food processor with shredder blade works great for this, keeps your hands from getting red too!)

Coleslaw Sweet and Sour Dressing

1 T. fresh lemon juice

1 T. lemon zest

1/2 C. light mayonnaise

1/4-1/2 teas. sea salt, to taste

1/4-1/2 teas. celery seed, optional

Combine salad ingredients in a large bowl. Combine dressing ingredients thoroughly. Toss with salad ingredients. Chill at least 1 hour before serving. Serve on a bed of butter lettuce leaves to add even more color!

Recipe from Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

9 responses

  1. I had to laugh! When I make this slaw, I use red apples, green cabbage, raisins, and walnuts. Yours sounds good, too!

  2. This red coleslaw is delicious. I like the photo of the red cabbage, it is interesting how cool they look inside.

  3. I love the looks of it, I’d even take photos, but I can’t eat cabbage, oh it hurts

  4. Hi Sandy, I like the sound of your “mix” too. Even cabbage can be fun, right!

    Hi Joe, I agree, this is like a very cool design to look at.

    Hi Lorraine, It hurts? I’m curious L, how so?

    Happy Weekend, G 🙂

  5. I love the picture, it is so visual! Stunning! I want your cookbook, but I promised T I would not buy another cookbook, I have hundreds and one of the shelves came down and those below came down too, he had his hands full… need I say more! Maybe when it is old news and not so fresh on the mind for him….RaeDi

  6. I left a surprise for you on my todays post….RaeDi

  7. Hi Rachael, You are such a sweetie, thanks for the acknowlegement at your blog and the kind words here.

    As for cookbooks, there is no such thing as too many! I have oodles and I always love getting more! One arrived in the mail today, to review. Oh goodie, can’t wait. 🙂

    Hope all is well now, take care, G

  8. Grat recipe and a beautiful picture of red cabbage. It looks like a fractal! Thanks for your visit to my blog and – glad to have found you, I’m a vegetarian too 🙂

  9. love the photo!!!… and cabbage too!!! my mom use to use it all the time…

Thanks so much for your comments!

