In a Jam, About Jam!!!

                                                                                 

I am a big fan of toast and jam. Plain old toast, jam and a cup of coffee or tea. A perfect breakfast ( I’m not a big breakfast eater, I know it’s the right thing to do but I’m just not really hungry first thing in the morning). At the end of the day I love to have: a piece of toast with jam and a glass of soy or rice milk, yummm….

It seems that it’s getting harder and harder to find good jams on the market that don’t contain added sugar. All the fruit in the ones I’ve tried in recent months (including  Golden Valley which use to be a fav) are so pulverized now, they aren’t what they use to be.

I like CHUNKS of fruit in jams and not overly sweet either. I’ve given up trying to find a good commercial jam (if you have any suggestions for good commercial jams without added sugar, please let me know) and I am going back to making my own simple version of jams from my cookbook Not Just for Vegetarians.

If you’d like to give these a try, here’s a link to the recipes. Much easier to make than regular jam and they really have a fresh and delish flavor. And as chunky as you like. 😉

Here’s to simple pleasures like toast and jam. 🙂

5 responses

  1. My mom made the best apple, plum and peach jam, complete with chunks…what I wouldn’t give to taste those again! Store bought just doesn’t cut it.

  2. My mom did, too!

    Your recipes look good, I will try both.

  3. Hi Cathy, My mom made a blue plum jam every fall with lemon zest in it, to die for!!! Your mom sounds like my kind of person, a great cook!

    Hi Sandy, They are good, not quite as special as the slow-cooking types of jam but very fresh and easy to make and so much better than store bought too.

    Happy Weekend, G :<)

  4. I love toast and jam with tea or coffee. Coffee preferred. Great photo.

  5. I agree that there is no better breakfast than toast and jam with coffee.

Thanks so much for your comments!

