A Very Cool Rainy Day Craft Project

                                                              

I’ve said it many times, I’ll say it again: I love the Internet!

I’ve always wanted to have one of those books that have a “secret hiding place/safe” for small valuables. I was also going to get one to give as a gift recently. So I started searching around the Internet and sure enough, there are companies that sell these types of books with the inner compartments. The problem? Waaaaay too pricey!

I then decided to take a look around for instructions how to make one of these books at home. And here’s what I found over at Ehow: How to Make a Secret Compartment in a Book.

Easy peasy and fun too. I made a couple of these books already, using hard cover books that had been read (and will not be re-read) that were ideal for this type of project. The finished results were not perfect (that’s why I’m not sharing a photo) but still usable. Cutting the pages after the glue had dried is a bit hard, a better utility knife would have definitely helped. But as I said, still usable and when the books are closed, you really can’t tell that they have a secret compartment, how cool is that?

If you are looking for “rainy day” craft project for yourself or with your kids (supervision definitely required with the cutting!) you might want to check out this project over at Ehow.  Lots of fun for a very small price!

Maybe you’ve always wanted one of these too? 😉

PS: I decided later on to add the photos. Not perfect but as I said above, still usable. 😉

5 responses

  1. That sounds like a fun project. You can always show a pic to your internet buddies. I would like to have seen pictures of your work in progress along with the finished project.

  2. I was going to Diana, re: sharing a photo but it looks pretty ordinary in a pic. I know I could have done a better job with a better knife, next time! In the meantime, I think this is a great project for a rainy day and one way to recycle old books that keeps on being useful too. These would make a fun gift too.

    Hope your training is going well, how impressive what you’ve done fitness-wise. I hope you get back to blogging too.

    Cheers, G

  3. I have seen something smilier and it is intriguing. I have already torn apart an old book (amazing how many are out there) and bound watercolor paper and put it in. My first project was not the greatest but I have another one waiting in Arizona for another try.

    I will pass this on to the grands. Thanks. You always find the funnest things!

  4. These were fun to make but I agree a better knife would have been helpful. very useful too.

  5. Hi Teri, I hope the gran-girls like this one. Let me know if they give this a try or if you do too! It’s kind of fun, isn’t it. I’m glad I’m finding “funnest” things, I like that…a new word!!! LOL

    Hi Joe, Gotta have the right tools for the job, I agree. When I had my newspaper craft column for many years, this was one of the things I made sure of BEFORE starting a new project, all supplies on hand and ready to go!

    Happy Crafting, G :<)

Thanks so much for your comments!

