The Internet and Inquiring Minds!

                            

Can you (now) imagine life without the internet? Hard to, isn’t it?

 Before I had internet access at home (in 2000) I usually spent hours each week at our public library, researching various topics of interest.  As expected, although I have nothing but respect for libraries of all kinds and sizes and the resources that they provide, the reference material found on my searches were usually outdated and often not even available.

 For example, if I was looking for an address of a person in the news to write to, more often than not, there was either no address to be found or the one that I did was from years before. If I did happen to find a valid and up- to- date address, the “snail mail” wait and see for weeks afterwards was yet another delay for this inquiring mind. Just one example of how things were “way back when” LOL but it goes to show how much we take for granted now, in terms of easy and usually instant access to almost any topic you can think of.

BTW, I should mention back at the library…Later on in the late 90’s they did provide internet access but for a limited time period for each patron. And for me, it was never long enough!

All that changed with the Internet becoming available for home users and the rapid growth of the information that has become available online.  For an info-junkie such as I, quick searches via Google and other search engines for just about any topic I could ever think of, is still today, a dream come true. Inquiring minds, even at 3 in the morning will be provided for, thanks to the internet!

So, imagine my surprise, in 2006 when I Googled the name Ed Allen, and came up with nada, nothing, zilch!

 Ed Allen for those of you who never heard the name before, was an exercise guru with millions of fans/followers, back in the  60’s, 70’s and beyond. For years and years, his TV exercise show ruled the airwaves. He was big news and yet he was nowhere to be found on the internet, at least I couldn’t find anything myself.

I was curious what had happened to Mr. Allen as my mom Helen had been one of his biggest fans. I often remember sitting on the sofa watching my mom work through Ed’s routines usually from some tropical locale like the beautiful Bahamas! Good memories. We teased my mom a lot about her devotion to Ed’s routines but the results spoke for themselves. My mom was fit and trim all of her life and I’m sure that the years of exercising with Ed was part of the reason why.

After my search that came up empty, I wrote this post about Ed Allen and wow, what a response it has had. Not only has it sparked a great comment conversation (and a few comments that needed to be deleted)  the post has also had almost 8000 hits at last count.

Apparently, I wasn’t the only one asking the question: Whatever Happened to Ed Allen? And every week, they still are.

So, that’s my ramble about all things internet. What a great time to live in eh?

 What is the best thing about the internet, in your opinion?

Info-junkies and trivia buffs  of the world, united we Google!!!

6 responses

  1. That was some response! Bet you were busy reading for a while.

  2. WOW. That’s an incredible amount of visits. But what did happen to him? Does anyone know?

    I remember visiting libraries for information and reading newspapers voraciously. The ease with which we can obtain information these days is quite incredible. Sometimes I still can’t quite believe it. Great post, G!

  3. Hi SandyL, I still enjoy reading the comments on this post, as they arrive. So detailed some of them as you may have noted. He is not forgotten, wherever Ed may be!!!

    Hi Sel, It’s my most read post, here at Veggies…And no, I can’t answer that question, no one has yet for sure, in the comments. I still remember the almost daily visits to the library to do research on a gazillion topics. We are definitely living in a great time for inquiring minds!

    Happy Googling, G :<)

  4. Great post. The internet has changed so much in terms of getting information of all types. We take it for granted now but it wasn’t that way, only a short time ago. And I’d like to know too, whatever happened to Mr. Ed?

    Joe

  5. I was just talking about this very thing at the gym last nite ! We were watching a zumba class ( have to get in a bit better shape before signing up for one) and I mentioned that I’d looked it up on Youtube to see what it was and how great the internet is cos no matter what your looking for, be it dance moves or crafts or recipes, someone somewhere has filmed themselves and posted it on youtube!

    I remember Ed Allen too and used to watch it!

  6. Wonderful post…. Makes me think about all of the things that have been developed or become popular during my 53-year life, e.g. internet (as you already mentioned), cordless phones, cell phones, lap tops & notebooks, cordless vacuum, CDs, DVDs, iPods, remote control for TVs, GPS, etc…

Thanks so much for your comments!

