A Happy Bread-Making “Mistake”

 

I use my bread-machine a LOT!

Unfortunately, there have been quite a few times that I’ve ended up with the “incredible sinking loaf” .  All is going well, bread rises beautifully, bakes for a few minutes and then POOOOF…it’s sinking in the middle. Very frustrating to say the least. The bread still tastes good, after the “cave in” in cut off but I don’t want cave-ins to cut off, if at all possible.

I always make breads with whole grains and usually add on’s like: oatmeal, sunflower seeds, Bran Buds (yes, I’ve created a recipe with these!) etc….and part whole-grain flour. I normally set the machine on the Whole Grain setting. Today though, I accidentally pushed the Basic setting and the machine was “off and running” without any way to re-set it. I’m glad now that was the case. The other two settings were on automatic it appears: 2 lb. loaf (I normally bake on 1.5 lb) and medium crust (I usually use light).

The lovely results are pictured above.

If you have been plagued with sinking loaves in your bread-machine, you might want to give this a try. On my older model (that finally went kaput) the loaves were more rectangular, not straight up and down as this model is. I always turned out beautiful loaves back then. I think this is the answer when it comes to this type of pan configuration.

Happy Baking! 🙂

6 responses

  1. I do bake bread, but not in a machine. That loaf looks so good! I wonder if I have time to do a loaf before supper??

  2. PS: We sliced into this bread last night (making toast and jam) and it tasted great. The only thing I noted was the crust was a bit thicker but otherwise much the same as when it’s backed on the whole grain setting. Who knew??? LOL

  3. It looks fantastic. I don’t have a bread maker but I would love to get one. Your blog is looking great at the moment. Love the header of Cheddar!!!

  4. Header of Cheddar, I like that! Ched does too. He sends a headbonk to his Auntie Sel. He wuvvvs you too. 🙂

    This was a happy baking “mistake” indeed! A breadmaker is a great investment. So much cheaper and tastier than commercial artisan breads. You can’t get it much easier either.

  5. Now that I have found your cooking site….you are a prolific blogger, cook, poet, there’s just no end to your talent.

    When we are in Wisconsin I always make bread because we are 18 miles from town. I use my bread machine to mix the dough and then take it out to raise and bake in the oven. Love that baking bread smell in the house and when it comes out of the oven I can’t wait to cut into it. I admit to being a bread-a-hoic.

  6. Hi Teri, I LOVE my bread machine, aren’t they the handiest of small appliances? Still like making scratch breads too but you can’t beat the convenience of these machines. And such a saving from buying commercial bread that pales by comparison in taste BIG TIME!

    Now that you have a copy of NJFV, I have a recipe for Bread-Machine Rosemary Flax Buns you might want to try. It’s a very popular recipe and one that’s so versatile too.

    I have many interests and projects on the go usually, that’s the times I’m happy, I am SURE you can relate to that. You have so many talents too. :<)

    Happy Baking, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

