A Soup Recipe “staple” revisited

This is a soup recipe that  I come back to again and again.

 Split Pea Soup has got to be one of the satisfying of all “comfort” foods. For me, a big bowl is usually enough on it’s own, without any add-ons like bread or buns. The Cheddar Muffins (2 posts below) are good with this if you are extra hungry

  I’m including the complete recipe on the next page. Note the comment about using Tofurky Beer Brats in lieu of veggie pepperoni. I’ve also included a link to the review of these Tofurky sausages, from my review blog. These work great in this recipe!

Happy Cooking!

 

SPLIT PEA SOUP

Perfect to warm you up…. on a cold, rainy or snowy day. Full of flavor and stick to your ribs satisfying !!!

Serves 6-8. Freezes well if there’s any left!

3 T. vegetable oil

2 large carrots, diced

1 large white onion, diced

3 stalks celery, diced

2-4 cloves garlic, minced (to taste)

½ (155 gr.) pkg. vegetarian ham, pepperoni OR 1 Tofurky Beer Brat , finely diced (click link for full product review)

6 C. vegetable soup stock

2 C. dried yellow or green split peas (washed and drained)

1-2 T. Dijon mustard (to taste)

1- 1 ½ teas Mrs. Dash Original Blend OR Spike Seasoning Blend

10 peppercorns – Note: Remove peppercorns before eating soup. If desired, tie them in a muslin bag, and remove them all at once from soup, before serving.

Garnish: 1 carrot, grated. Chopped parsley

Heat the oil in a large soup pot. Saute the carrots, onion, celery, garlic and veggie pepperoni or ham for about 5 minutes over medium heat. Add the remaining ingredients, cover and bring to a boil.

Reduce heat to low and simmer,covered for 2 hours, stirring occasionally to keep soup from sticking. Soup will be thick. Add a bit more water or stock  if necessary, for desired consistency. Garnish each serving with grated carrot and chopped parsley and serve.

Adapted (slightly)  from the original recipe : Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way, by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

7 responses

  1. Yum, yum…we have this soup quite a bit. It’s always great. Very filling and flavorful.

  2. I make this a lot in the winter. It is very good.

  3. I loved your traditional potato soup from your cookbook, will have to try this one next, with muffins.
    I’ve been wanting to make soup this weekend, so this is the one I’ll do.
    Have a good day!
    Brenda

  4. Hi Joe, I agree. It’s probably the most filling soup I make too. And that’s a plus, especially after a long walk on a cold day! :<)

    Hi Sandy, Do you add-on to this Sandy, breads etc?

    Hi Brenda, Let me know what you think after you try it, thanks Brenda.

    Happy Cooking, G

  5. Absolutely. I agree so much regarding it being a wonderful comfort food. I am getting excited because it is almost cold enough here to start making soups. I can’t wait!

  6. Hi Sel, I hope you are trying a lot of the soup recipes from my cookbook too. As you may have noted, there are a lot of soups in there. I’d rather eat soup than practically anything else. Autumn arrives down under as we begin spring here, seems strange. I love Autumn and will look forward to your photos.

    Keep me posted on your cooking adventures. 🙂 G

Thanks so much for your comments!

