Book Review: Drunk,Divorced & Covered in Cat Hair

 

I know, I know….I must be the last knitter to read this book.

A couple of weeks ago, I finally took  an afternoon and read: Drunk,Divorced and Covered in Cat Hair by Laurie Perry aka Crazy Aunt Purl.

I have visited over at Laurie Perry’s popular blog on several occasions. Even found a cute beret pattern there at one point. So I was curious to see how her book had turned out.

Not meaning to rain on anyone’s parade but….I was rather disappointed. I don’t know what I expected but it wasn’t nearly as funny or as entertaining as I had hoped. The presentation was also a surprise. Rather basic, to put it kindly, especially in terms of the book’s layout, text etc. The knitting patterns that were included were all at the back of the book and again ahemm…rather basic. Also detracting from the overall presentation.

                       As far as the story itself went and that is certainly the most important part. Yes, there were some funny parts and a few LOL’s for me. At the same time, I found the author’s style of writing rather “over the top” dare I say whinnnnney….too much of the time and that seemed to set the tone of the entire book.

I applaud Laurie’s efforts and I certainly can understand the appeal her book had for many of her long-time blog readers and friends. I can’t say it’s a must-read though. And it certainly doesn’t have much to do with knitting or cats either. More emphasis on wine drinking and lots of tears.

I guess we all have our own particular ways to cope with life’s ups and downs. I’m glad Laurie found her way to a happier place. I just don’t think that her experience of going through a divorce had enough to fill an entire book.

If you’ve already read it, what were your thoughts on this book?

Amazon reviews and ordering page at: Crazy Aunt Purl

One response

  1. I began reading the book but never finished it. I agree with your review. It wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be and it lacked content for me both story-wise and pattern-wise.

Thanks so much for your comments!

