A Wonderful Cornbread Recipe/Soup too!

What is black bean soup without cornbread to accompany? Just not complete, I’d say.

I found this amazingly moist cornbread recipe over at About.com (yes, I do make and enjoy other people’s recipes ;<) LOL) and it is a keeper.

Perfect with my recipe for  black bean soup that I shared here a while ago. If you missed it the first time, here’ s the link to the recipe. And the yummy photo too:

The cornbread is delish but don’t make more than what you plan to eat on any given day. It doesn’t freeze well and dries out quickly. I’m going to make a batch later today as I’ve got this soup on the menu for tonight’s supper. I may give it a try as muffins this time.

A few personal preferences/tweaks: I usually make it in a 7″ x 11″ baking pan, instead of the 9″ square as the recipe suggests.  I also adjusted the oven temp. down to 375F. It was browning too fast at the higher suggested temp. Could be the oven here though, they all vary a bit. I also used only 2 large eggs and decreased the baking powder to 2 teaspoons, salt to 1/2 teaspoon.

And if you haven’t tried the Turtle/Black Bean soup yet, it makes for a perfect culinary duet!

 Happy Cooking. 🙂

4 responses

  1. Wow! That sure looks yummy! 🙂

  2. I have made that soup and it is to die for. I will try it with the cornbread this weekend. YUM!

  3. You take the most beautiful pictures of your food! I’ve been trying lately and it’s a lot easier said than done, so to speak. I’ve never had a corn bread that I actually liked so it will be fun to try again on a recipe that comes recommended.

    The turtle soup is a different story. When you posted this one on VTH, I immediately gave it a try and now it’s a keeper. Especially after I treated myself to a pressure cooker….amazing! Black beans in 22 minutes.

  4. Hi Ruinwen, Tastes yummy too. And very filling.

    Hi Sel, I’m so glad you enjoyed the soup. Hopefully your family too. The cornbread, a perfect side.

    Hi Tania, How nice to see you again. Your comment was in my spam filter, go figure. Im glad I checked tonight, hardly ever do. Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed the soup too. One of several new recipes I’ve created in the past few months.

    Hugs and Happy Weekend, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

