My Fav Dessert…Carrot Cake :-)

DSCN0899

Yes, it really does taste as good as it looks.

Let me know if you give this cake (and hopefully my icing too) recipe a try. If you and your family like carrot cake, you are going to be loving this one, I’m sure!

As with most recipes, I did a bit of tweaking and in the case of the cake, made half the recipe (measures can be adjusted right on the Allrecipe site, I used 8 servings instead) and made the following easy but rich and creamy icing to finish the cake…

 Easy Cream Cheese Icing

1- 8 oz. block light cream cheese

3 T. pineapple juice

1 T. lemon juice and the zest of one large lemon

4 T. liquid honey (or a bit more, to taste)

coconut shreds and/or crushed pecans for topping .

Combine icing ingredients and allow to chill in refrigerator at least one hour to firm up. Ice cake and add desired toppings. Enough icing for an: 8 serving cake.

Adjust amounts if making a larger or smaller cake.

For the 8 serving size cake: I used an 8″ x 11″ pan and reduced baking time to 45 minutes.

For cupcakes, bake at 375F and reduce baking time to 25-30 minutes. Makes 10 large cupcakes.

Other changes: I omitted raisins and used pecans instead of walnuts

and reduced sugar in cake by about 1/2, Adjust to taste for your own preferences. 

8 responses

  1. My husband’s favorite cake. I’ll have to make him one this week. Isn’t it strange how we get a craving for “fall” desserts when the weather turns cooler?

  2. Oh, yum. I love carrot cake, as does my whole family. It’s our wedding cake cake of choice too.

  3. Reblogged this on VEGGIES, YARNS & TAILS and commented:

    ****I MADE THIS CARROT CAKE WITH ICING (AGAIN) YESTERDAY. YUMMY AS USUAL. THOUGHT IT WAS A GOOD TIME TO SHARE IT HERE AGAIN. HAPPY BAKING!***

  4. Carrot cake is one of my favorites. Yum!!:) And, this one looks like a winner. My tummy tells me I want to try it, but my scale tells me not to. 🙂 (I have to begin my weight loss program again). 😦

  5. carrot cake. one of my many weaknesses.

  6. WOW!!! Looks amazing! ->I’ve been on a juicing kick and made a smoothie inspired by carrot cake! (*Carrot juice, vanilla, almond milk, banana, cinnamon, ginger, dates)

  7. My son’s fiance wants carrot cake for their wedding. I will try this one! Thanks!!

  8. The recipe is SO good Joyce and my redo of the typical cream cheese icing is a lot less fattening than most and MUCH lower in refined sugar. I utilize the sweetness of the pineapple juice and it adds such a lovely fresh flavor, along with the lemon.

    Edgar, Hope you indulge soon. 😉 Life is too short not too!

    Green Sparrow, That must be one delish smoothie, sounds SO good!

    Carole, I hope it’s a big hit. Congrats on the upcoming wedding too. 🙂

    Happy Baking, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

