New muffin recipe,cat tales,knitting too!

Well, I am finally getting around to organizing the new recipes I’ve been working on, since the publication of NJFV. It’s kind of strange…

I am usually quite an organized person. When it comes to recipes though, I still seem to revert back to the “write it on a scrap of paper for now” and leave the neatness and order until later.

Well, today I’ve added a new category to my sidebar, New Recipes and slowly but surely, I plan to get my “scraps of paper” (many of them,at least) typed up and saved for future use in my new cookbook and of course, for my reader’s use as well.

Today, I want to start off by sharing a wonderful new muffin recipe I created a couple of week’s ago,

Wheat Germ Coconut-Cran Muffins:

These muffins are very moist, colorful and include the goodness of toasted wheat germ and coconut for fiber sources. Hope you will enjoy these soon. I’ll include the recipe at the end of this post.

Do let me know how you enjoy these (and any suggestions/variations) and of course, your families comments are appreciated, too.

In cat news, I have some darling pics. of “the kid’s” to share.

Here’s Mr. Cheddar, using Joe’s leg for a headrest:

To all the feline lovers…. can you relate? Haven’t we all done this? Kept still so that the kitty of the hour could rest and recline, as our body parts went slowly but surely into “sleep mode”! I know I’ve put up with this done this many, many times. I just love them so much!!!! I’m putty in their paws!!!!! πŸ˜‰

Here’s another Mr. C pic. A tad fuzzyΒ photo, but isn’t he a smart fella?

This time he’s catching up on the local news:

One more solo pic of Mr. Cheddar, this time showing his best “meatloaf” pose:

Don’t ask me why they call this classic cat pose a “meatloaf” but I’ve read this several times. Whatever you want to call it, he is looking handsome, don’t ya think? πŸ˜‰

And now for Ms. Mitzi. Checking out some morning action outside. “Is that an American sparrow I see???”

Cue…. “the machine-gun, teeth chattering noise” πŸ˜‰

Is that a hoot or what, when felines make that particular sound?

Ahhhh…..Are these two buds or what?

I just love when they get all tangled up and cozy together. Somedays, it’s still “hissing and tackle time” but more often than not now, it’s more of the good stuff. I am so glad they’ve become pals.

On to knitting news.

I finally have a photo of my March charity project to share:

This was a fun hat to knit, from the Oddball Knitting book. I am also planning to make one for myself, for next winter too. I like the way the rolled edges turns up (and stays up) by itself. And it was really, really quick and easy. Now I have to get moving on my April charity project, I’m a bit behind in the crafts right now.

I have got this much (right up to the pattern section of the body) of my Fairly Easy Fair Isle knit from Stitch and Bitch Nation, knit so far:

Still no contrast yarns found or purchased, rats! I am checking out Ravelry when I can to see about a swap but so far, I just haven’t found the time.

Still loving my re-kindled poetry pursuits over at: My Poetic Path.

I am planning to enter a poem or two in the Writer’s Digest writing contest that is currently accepting submissions, including poetry.

I did receive an Honorable Mention for Not Just for Vegetarians in a previous Writer’s Digest contest, so I am encouraged to enter again, this time, in the poetry category.

It is so gratifying to be recognized for your very personal, creative work, isn’t it? I have been so fortunate to have received so much positive feedback and reviews about my work as a cookbook author and now re: my poetry.

Well, that’s about all my news, for now.Hope you all have a wonderful week!

Last but certainly not least: Do stop over to Ruinwen’s when you can, it’s her birthday today ! What a lovely person Ruinwen is and just one of many, many people I am so glad to have “met” via Blogland.

BFN, G πŸ™‚

Recipe for Wheat Germ Coconut-Cran Muffins (please see next page)

Wheat Germ Coconut-Cran Muffins

Moist, colorful and delicious. The hints of cinnamon and allspice add so much! Makes 12 large muffins.

1/2 C. raw wheat germ

1/2 C. unsweetened flaked coconut

1 C. unbleached white flour

1/2 C. whole wheat pastry flour

1/4 tsp. ground cloves

1/4- 1/2 tsp. ground allspice (to taste)

1/2 tsp. sea salt

1 tsp. EACH baking powder and baking soda

1/2- 3/4 C. raw sugar (to taste)

1 C. dried cranberries

1/2 C. chopped walnuts or pecans

……

1 egg, beaten

1/3 C. vegetable oil (sunflower or safflower work well)

1 1/2 C. buttermilk

Grease muffin tin thoroughly and set aside. Preheat oven to 375 F.

Toast wheat germ and coconut together, in a dry frypan, over medium high heat, stirring constantly, until lightly toasted but not brown. This will only take about 3-4 minutes, don’t forget to keep stirring. Remove from heat and cool to room temperature.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the: toasted wheatgerm and coconut, flours, spices, sea salt, baking powder and soda, sugar, dried cranberries and nuts. Stir to thoroughly combine.

In a smaller bowl, combine remaining ingredients. Add to first mixture and stir just until mixed, do NOT overmix. Mixture should be lumpy but well combined. Spoon into prepared muffin tins.

Bake for 18-20 minutes until done. Reduce heat to 350 after first 10 minutes of baking time, if browning too fast. Serve with cream cheese, margerine, butter or plain.

Wheat Germ, Coconut-Cran Muffins: Β© 2008 Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

18 responses

  1. I really like your hat, Geraldine! And the pictures of the two kitties in the box makes me chuckle. I remember when they didn’t get along. πŸ™‚

  2. Have to agree with Beth….I just love the pic of Mr. C and Ms. Mitz snuggled in the box!

    (btw, from where I’m seated, your sidebar has disappeared on the main page, but not on this post’s page. How odd!)

  3. Oh! Oops….on my browser (Firefox), the sidebar is at the bottom of the page, under all the articles.

  4. I don’t know what’s happened either, re sidebar.

    WP has been doing some tweaking lately but as they say, ‘if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it’. 😦

    I wrote this new post and when I posted it, pooooof goes my sidebar, down south. I’ve written to them to see what gives. In the forums, other people are mentioning the same problems. Refreshing the screen does not work. And this theme as far as I can tell, does not usually include a side and bottom widget option.

    If anyone has any ideas of an easy fix for this, do let me know in a comment, thanks so much. G

  5. Those muffins look really yummy. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I’m a cat lover too.

  6. Thanks Geraldine! You’re such a sweetheart! πŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to make those muffins! I find its funny that they call when cats paw in the same place “making muffins”. Your cats are adorable! I love them all curled up together…so cute! πŸ™‚

  7. Those muffins look like a great holiday recipe! They are so colorful and I can just picture them on the Christmas Breakfast Table. Yummy!!!!!!!

  8. what a potpourri of ditties! First the kitties — my mom and I always used to call the “meatloaf” position a 1950 Chev (actually the ’50 Ford was similar too). πŸ™‚

    The muffins look good. I haven’t made muffins in ages. I love your muffin tin. I don’t bake with white flour anymore. For several years now the only flour I buy/use is whole wheat and I usually have a small amount of rye flour and barley flour for various purposes. (The barley flour is good in gravies).

    Cheers,

    Diane

  9. Thanks for the new muffin recipe, sounds great, and healthy! Those cats are the cutest!

  10. I love your March charity hat, Geraldine, and the kitty pictures are too cute.

  11. Hi Carole, Welcome, do let me know how you like the muffins.

    Hi Birthday Girl, You are so welcome. Love the muffin ref. so cute!!!

    Hi Sheep, Great minds think alike, I was thinking the same thing. Don’t wait til then to try them, ok!!!

    Hi Diane, That’s funny about the Chev! πŸ˜‰

    Hi Wheeler, Hope you will give them a whirl.

    Hi MaryAnne, This is such a fun, quick hat to make.
    Huggs, G

    PS: I’m still waiting for WP to give me some advice re: my sidebar conundrum. Do let me know if any of you come up with the solution. WP, why have you forsaken me!!!! 😦

  12. wonderful cat photos! I’ve often wondered about the meatloaf position too, its used to refer to rabbits too. As vegetarian rabbit owners (and because rabbits are veggie too!) we call the position the lentil roast or sometimes the pudding, which sounds cuter too!

  13. aren’t the kitties funny…I’m so glad your’s are getting along most of the time, now…wish I could say the same. CC is just such a curmudgeon.

    Will keep the muffin recipe for fall…I rarely cook much in the summer!
    Your hat is darling…
    (((hugs)))

  14. Yum, the muffins look great! Good work on the knitting too!

  15. Mr. Cheddar is adorable! I’m going to try those muffins. They look FAB!

  16. Chuckling about how we let body parts go into “sleep mode” for our pets. I do that all the time with both my dog and cat!! Your muffins look yummy too.

  17. Hi Crafty, I like the veganized name for this pose! Well done.

    Hi Sallee, They certainly do keep us chuckling and on our toes too!

    Hi Heather, They are delish, the first batch was gone FAST! I love baking with wheat germ, it’s such a wonderful tasting fiber source, toasted of course. πŸ˜‰

    Hi Selma, Mr. C says Meoooow! The muffins are yummy, do let me know how you like them.

    Hi Kathleen, Welcome to Veggies….Yes, we do put up with some strange things, to keep our pets happy, don’t we? But they are sooooo worth it.

    Thanks for stopping by. Keep me posted on your baking adventures. Huggs, G πŸ™‚

  18. I love the kitty photos! and the muffins sound delicious. Though it calls for dried, I still have some frozen crans from the fall that have been waiting for the right recipe. πŸ™‚

    BTW I love the spring header.

Thanks so much for your comments!

