Yarn swap, fitness challenge and a recipe too!

Wow, it’s only Tuesday and I’m finding time to do a post; that makes for a nice change!

First of all in yarn news:

 I’m wondering if anyone (or perhaps you can suggest, a site/blog) out there is interested in doing a yarn swap?

I find myself in possession of 5 skeins (100 gr./67 yards in each) of this lovely Bulky Lopi in Cordovan ( a rich burgundy shade, as in the throw photo, not purple):

I have no further use for now. I did have other ideas for projects for this yarn when I first purchased (2 bags/ 20 skeins) but decided to make this lovely throw instead:

Leaving me with the remaining 5 skeins (which can’t be returned as they were sold as a 10 skein bag/unit price).

Do let me know if any of you have other yarn you might want to swap this for and I will be happy to consider.

Speaking of my WIP’s….

 Right now, I am in need of small amounts of 2 of the contrast colors for my Fairly Easy Fair Isle, which I am making in this tweed Lopi as the main color.

I already have a solid red, still need to get a orangey-yellow shade and also a aqua/green shade to go with. The yarn doesn’t have to be the exact same type as this Alafoss Lopi but it does have to be a chunky weight in wool.

The two end colors in this photo (no longer available on Flickr) are close to what I’m looking for, but in a chunky weight yarn. This lite Lopi(as in the above photo) is too thin (I don’t want to double up strands either) and unfortunately these shades aren’t available in the regular chunky-weight Lopi (go figure)!

I’m guessing that I need about 2-2.5 oz. of EACH contrast color, to complete the pattern section of this cardigan. From what I’ve been reading on the Internet, everyone who has made this cardigan ended up with quite a bit left from the contrast color yarns they purchased.

 So, if there’s anyone out there who would love to move some of their stash (and hopefully also could help with my need for these contrast colors too) it would be great to hear from you! I’m open to considering any yarn you want to swap. The small amount of contrast colors above would only be part of what I’d be interested in.

My new blog: My Poetic Path is turning out to be a wonderful experience for me and I am so encouraged by the number of visitors already stopping by. I’m working on a new poem  to post later today, so hope you will stop in for a visit soon. I am also ‘meeting’ many other poets who blog, another real plus of this new venture.

I know I’ve said it again and again but… isn’t blogging great!!! Ya gotta do it, to get it, don’t ya????!!! 

 I still get people asking me (do you?) ‘what’s a blog’  ?

Is that amazing or what?    😉

With spring already here in BC (wow, that’s a big difference for mid-March compared to the Canadian Prairies from where we previously lived) thoughts of getting outdoors and more fitness pursuits come to mind.

Wondering if there would be an interest in starting a fitness challenge  progress,weekly log, something like that, that several of us could encourage each other, to keep going and get more fit?

What do you think?

I’d be happy to put something together, here on Veggies… if the interest was there. Kind of like a ‘I Knit and I’m Fit’ sort of project (knitting optional if this is a go, of course) and starting from now.

Let me know if you’d be interested in participating (leave a comment or email me). Thanks!

It would be entirely up to you what kinds of exercise and times per week, etc you’d want to commit to. More as a way of keeping motivated, keeping a record of progress.

Best of all, giving each other encouragement to go, go go……..even when the going gets tough, motivation lags or the weather is not cooperating!!!

 I’ll finish off with a recipe for a great ‘pick-me-up, before a walk/run treat’:

Tahini Terrific No-Bake Energy Bars from NJFV featured in an earlier post.

These delicious, nutritious bars continue to be very popular in terms of the many visitors to this post.

I have yet to find any other energy bars (commercial ones included) that provided more ‘get up and go’ in every single bite. Do hope you will give them a try.

Bonus, they taste great too and have been kid-approved!!!

Huggs and wishing you a wonderful week, G      🙂

12 responses

  1. I wish I could help you out but I don’t know what I’d do with the lopi. I wish I could say that there was some challenge I could aspire to but right now walking twice a week is all I can manage. I’m going to try making these bars but with dates instead of rasins…I think that would be yummy. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. I can vouch for those energy bars! I made them last year when I was taking my night class and they were a fabulous pick-me-up. And yummy, too!!!!

    Are you on Ravelry? They do lots of swaps. I can’t remember if you were involved with that or not…

  3. […] Yarn swapping, fitness challenge and a recipe too! […]

  4. If you’re not on Ravelry, you should be, so go sign up, y’hear?

    I don’t have a need for the Lopi, either…

    Do send me your email addy? (mine is on the sidebar of my blog.
    🙂
    (((hugs)))

  5. Good luck with your yarn swap! If everything goes right, I’ll be teaching tatting this fall, but your yarn is a little too bulky for that! lol

    On the exercise/fitness front, wow….since my qigong classes ended (I haven’t taught a class since December), I have fallen off that practice ladder. I’ve arranged for some rental space with a new studio, so hopefully some new students will sign up for my classes. I have definitely felt the difference (not a good one!) in being inactive these three months.

  6. I agree that Ravelry is a good place to find yarn to swap. I’ll have to make some of those energy bars. I’ve been eating granola bars lately and they’re probably not as healthy as your bars.

  7. Hi Ruinwen, Hope you like the bars. Making them with dates sounds interesting, should work hopefully not too gooooey LOL, dates are quite moist. I really need to set some fitness goals for myself to stick with it consistently, that’s why I thought of this ‘challenge’ idea.

    Hi Sheep, Glad you liked the energy bars, they are very popular! I’ve always had a ‘fear’ of Ravelry, don’t know why, guess I need to read over what it’s all about to make an informed decision. It seemed kinda complicated at first glance.

    Hi Sallee, I sent you an email to your siam….address, hope that works.

    Hi Michelle, What do you think re: a fitness log/chart/challenge I’m still game! If no takers, I’m still thinking of keeping track of my own progress, on Veggies…to keep more committed. It would be a lot more fun with other participants though. 🙂

    Hi Beth, Some granola bars are ok but some are downright JUNK! Do give these a whirl, I think you will really enjoy them.

    Huggs and thanks for stopping by, G 🙂

  8. There’s a yahoo group, KnitSwap: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/knitswap/ . You can post those that you are looking for as well. I don’t really have anything to swap you for it, though that purple is luscious looking.

  9. Ravelry does sound like a good place to find a swap partner. That yarn is pretty but I have no idea what I could swap with and no time to look right now, alas.

    I *should* do the fitness thing because all I’m doing is driving to work, working all day, driving home, going to sleep, rinse & repeat. April can’t get here soon enough. The most nutritious thing I’ve eaten lately is a can of cannellini beans mashed up with sun dried tomatos. Any suggestions for some really quick, really easy veggie meals? Smartfood popcorn isn’t going to make it another month. Three weeks? ARGH!

  10. Thanks Cynthia, Ill check out that link. I also FINALLY signed up as of today, for Ravelry. I’m probably the last knitter in the world to do that, but heh, it’s not the first time I’ve been a late starter LOL!!!

    Carrie, I still want to set up some kind of fitness log so if this sounds like something you’d like to participate in, let me know. I know it would help to keep me motivated.

    As for easy, breezy meals….do check out the recipe archives here for lots of great and quick to make meal ideas. You might want to get a copy of NJFV too, for LOTS of suggestions for what you are looking for.

    Thanks for stopping by and your helpful comments too, G

  11. I would love to swap, but I live in Aussie guess that gets a little to far away.

    Love the colours by the way and great job on the throw.

    Cheers, and by the way top blog – I will be back.

  12. The fitness blog is a great idea. Getting fit alone is nearly impossible, you’ve got to have the motivation from others – and maybe some light scolding when you slip!

Thanks so much for your comments!

