WIP and other good things….

Well, after my rant re: Auction Buddies in my last post, thought I should shift gears today and return to more positive topics to write about.

I did appreciate all the clicks on this post and your comments as well. Companies like Auction Buddies are the ones that give online shopping a bad reputation.

Amen and enough said.   😉

First of the positive news, I am pleased to announce the launch of my new blog:  My Poetic Path.

As  I mentioned in a recent post, in February, I had the pleasure of participating in a writing contest over at The Clarity of Night. It was a wonderful experience, from start to finish and what a great group of participants showed up to share their writing talents and feedback.

 It felt ‘so right’ to get back to more emotional, personal and creative writing and the experience has motivated me to start my new blog that will be devoted to this type of material.

Poems, photos and short stories….most of them will be created by yours truly but I will also be sharing photos from some talented friends who have graciously consented to having me include their work, at  My Poetic Path.

 I do hope you will stop in soon and often and that you will add my new blog to your blogrolls, for your readers to enjoy too . 

Hopefully I will inspire other bloggers to reconnect with their own creative, perhaps also neglected interests.

I have let so many of my creative pursuits slide in the past few years; instead focusing and dealing too often, with what life’s been dishing out. Some-days it seems, in big bottomless bowls!!!    😦

Hopefully this will be the start of a creative and rewarding new pursuit for me and a tranquil and contemplative place to visit for my Veggie….pals and hopefully new readers too.

On to yarn tales….

Remember my problems with the buttons for my Cropped Cardigan?

Well I sure do LOL.  There’s been a happy ending to that particular yarn tale, but it took a bit of time and work to really make this a sweater that I love and will be wearing for many moons to come….

Speaking of the universe, the star buttons I had wanted to use but didn’t stay closed have now been replaced by these lovely vintage buttons, which I found after an extensive Etsy search at: Buttons Galore. (photo removed from flickr)

Do stop by: Buttons Galore, if you are in need of a perfect finishing touch in the form of lovely buttons, available in every shape, color and material you can imagine, this is definitely an Etsy shop to check out. Great service too and some free buttons added to my order as well, for future use.

I also turned the cardigan inside out to use as the right side instead. I was more satisfied with the ‘wrong’ side texture, which was more chunky(in a good way) looking and not so fuzzy. This cardigan really is going to be a fav. for me now. It was worth the extra work to make it just right!

Also cast on my March charity project, a new hat pattern, I’ll share that one soon. It’s gonna be a quickie to make!!!

How many of you are currently knitting the popular Monkey Socks? I’ve seen them over at Sheep’s and Beth’s  blogs, to name but two.

 Wow, are these beautiful socks or what? Amazing really, like a work of art. I don’t know if I’m up to the challenge of making a pair but I certainly plan to give them a try.

Cookie at Knitter’s Anonymous is to be congratulated on her wonderful and unique designs, including the lovely Monkeys. This takes socks to a whole new level, at least I think so.

And do check out Cookie’s blog, chock full of gorgeous patterns, if you aren’t a regular there already.

Still on the knitting front, I am making good progress on the Fairly Easy Fair Isle cardigan featured, here, here and here from Stitch and Bitch Nation.

Here’s my main yarn color (photo removed from Flickr)

Still need to get my contrast color yarns for the pattern sections of the sweater. I’m planning to use the mauve, red and light rust colors, featured in this tweed.

This might sound a bit ‘busy’ to be combined together, but after checking out other Lopi sweaters that also feature tweed yarns with Fair Isle patterns, thought I’d give it a try. I think it’s going to be beautiful actually, the tweed is very subtle, not overpowering when knit in ss.

 My first attempt at Fair Isle… wooohooo!!!! Wish me luck, I’m gonna need it!   😉

Mr. Cheddar and Ms. Mitz may appear to be relaxing (Mitz) and grooming (Mr. C.) below but rumour has it that they are also working on their own new blogs to host. They’ve been getting a lot of support from the feline blog community so who knows….they may be blogging more than I am, in the near future. In my humble opinion, they both still need to work on their paw-keyboarding skills though, too many typos, so far!   😉

Mr. Cheddar is considering the blog name: ‘Mr. Cheddar and the Cracker Barrel Band’. Catchy but where is the band Mr. C.????

 Ms. Mitz is adamant that her choice will be: ‘Ms. Mitz: Sweater Feline, Warrior Princess, Hot Babe with the Long Legs and then some….’

 I’ve tactfully suggested that she rethinks her choice of blog names and perhaps turns part of it into her first post LOL. That Mitzi, what a gal!!!!  

Well, spring certainly seems to be arriving fast, here in Interior BC. Hardly any snow left now and warm and sunny today.

Hopefully I will have new spring pics. to share soon (these are still ‘archive tulips’in the header) LOL, here at Veggies….and also at: My Poetic Path.

Wishing you an abundant and happy day!!! G       🙂

 

11 responses

  1. Having a place to just write creatively sounds rather nice. What a great idea! And I really do recommend the Monkey pattern as a way to break out of the Plain Sock Rut. It’s manageable for even those of us with limited lace knitting ability. Once I got the hang of it, it almost knitted itself!!

  2. Your vintage buttons are the perfect touch. Mr. Cheddar and Ms. Mitz look so adorable in respose. I think that a creative page is a great idea and I will add it to the blogs I devour everyday for nourishment. 🙂

  3. Well, nice new blog, and lots of knitting and cool buttons and the kitties are looking good!

  4. Beautiful sweater, and I love the new poetry blog, too!

    I don’t suppose Mr C and Ms Mitz will be hiring you as their editor???? 😉

  5. Hi Sheep, Your monkey socks are just the cat’s meoooow! Very nice work. I’m still not convinced that these are easy-peasy…but I do look forward to giving them a try. Can I ask for help again if I get stuck? 😉

    Hi Ruinwen, I hope you enjoy both of my blogs for many moons to come. Nourishment indeed, that’s what visiting blogs gives me too. Great stuff and no-calories too LOL.

    Hi MaryAnne, I’m glad you enjoyed your visits to both of my blogs this week. I like having two blogs…could another be on the horizon? Maybe I will leave that to the kitties LOL.

    Hi Michelle, Thanks for your lovely compliments on both blogs. Mr. C and Ms. M want Willy over at Mass Destruction for their editor-in-paw but I think he’s a bit far away to really do the job effectively. He’s in New Mexico after all!!!

    Huggs and thanks for stopping in, G 🙂

  6. Congratulations on your new blog, G! Thanks for the link to the button store on Etsy. There’s lots to look at there! Can’t wait to see your projects!

  7. I can’t wait to see what you create!

  8. my good heavens, so much to read about and as much to congratulate you on — all of them creative pursuits. Looking forward to seeing your fair isle project — I love those. My blogging time is minimal but I will certainly pay your new blog a visit. Good for you for pursuing the creative pursuits that give you so much pleasure!

    Diane

  9. Hi Beth, I am really enjoying having 2 blogs and of course the new one is totally different. Creativity in a new direction. Only 2 posts so far but many more to come.
    I finished my charity hat today and Joe’s cardigan (now to ‘tidy them up a bit’ and a slight steam with the iron and it’s on to the next challenge . I love seeing all your projects over at FLK! 🙂

    Hi Jason, Welcome and I feel the same way when I stop in at Clarity of Night. I could spend hours browsing there, your archives are terrific too!

    Hi Diane, Yes, it is wonderful to ‘stretch’ a bit creatively and get back to some of my passions that have been put on hold for a long time. Jason’s writing contest really helped to motivate me to just ‘do it’ and now I have a new blog to be creative in a whole new way. Isn’t blogging terrif!!! I love yours too, btw. That’s another big plus, finding new (fav.) blogs to enjoy.

    Have a great week, G

  10. Good luck with the new blog Geraldine, and happy writing!

    Best,
    Jade

  11. Hello Geraldine! I came to visit you. Congratulations for the poems and new blog! Best wishes!

Thanks so much for your comments!

