Mr. C’s ‘night moves’ (and my news too)!!!

Check this out, Mr. Cheddar now has a new night-time toy to amuse him (and hopefully Mitz will give it a whirl or two, so far she’s given it the paws down).    😦

Mystery Feline? The cat banker??? No.. it’s Mr. C!!!!!

 

The Star Chaser Turbo Scratcher is a (slight) cut-above some of the other feline toys on the market. Most of them, come on….a feather at the end of a plastic stick, a squeaky mouse…….give me a break! Mr. Cheddar and Ms. Mitz would rather have a big paper grocery bag, any day.

 For all the feline-owned bloggers, what’s your cat(s) fav. toy? Any special requests for Christmas?

The Star Chaser does seem to be a minor hit, at least for now. The flashing lights (especially in  the dark) woooooeeeee!!! Me and Joe sure enjoyed it LOL!!!

Back to the light of day…..

It was great to have some really sunny days this past week here in interior BC. We did have a couple of light snow falls but it seems to be melting away quickly. Next week is suppose to be very warm so I guess the boots and scarves can get filed away for a few more days.

My Sunny Kitchen View (makes dishwashing a bit more fun!)     🙂

 Speaking of dishes/cleaning, check out this interesting post from my blog bud Michelle, re: the pros and cons of cleaning products and a great list of more natural/less harmful alternatives. Thanks M!

Still in the kitchen, but on to the fun stuff, cooking of course.….

As I mentioned last week, I’m working on two new cookbooks, one being a meatless burger book. I’ve been doing some online research on what’s out there already and it’s really quite interesting. All the way from the downright weird to recipes that sound really, really good.

Here’s some that I found so far, you be the judge on what category you’d put these in: Online meatless burger recipes

I haven’t given any of the recipes in this article a try yet, the one that really intrigues me is the broccoli burgers….some good comments about this one in the article but really, can you picture/taste this? I bought some nice organic broccoli this week so maybe….I never like to waste food and me and Joe are not picky eaters, but you can only go so far, right!  LOL…     

I’ll let you know which ones make the grade and do let me know if you try any of these recipes or have a homemade veggie burger recipe you’d like to share.

Speaking of online research, my quest for a hands-on soapmaking course continues. I am finding some really nice natural soap sites in the meantime though. Unfortunately, none that also offered soapmaking classes, in our area.

I ordered some Christmas gifts from Clearwater Soap Works. Loved the little treasure chests they include with some of their gift packs. I was also impressed with their site, products and the very prompt replies to my questions about their products.

The NJFV cookbook sale is still on, I’ve extended it until December 10th (allowing just enough time for Christmas delivery). Do spread the word and remember…cookbooks make a great gift!

Appetizers from Not Just for Vegetarians

Speaking of Christmas, I’ll finish off with a ‘munchie’ recipe from NJFV, Spicy Honey Almonds (pictured above) that is a great addition to a party table or just to enjoy on movie night etc….

This continues to be a very popular recipe. Also, makes a great hostess gift. Pour them in a pretty jar, add a label, ribbon and gift tag (nice to add the recipe too, included at the end of this post, just downsize to fit on your own cards, if you’d like to include) and you’re good to go.

A nice change from the usual ‘small’ gifts of chocolates or fruitcake. Yiiiikes….does anyone really like fruitcake????  

    Have a great week!       🙂

SPICY HONEY ALMONDS

These delicious spicy-sweet almonds are hard to resist.   Makes a great holiday ‘nibble’…. have plenty on hand!  

Yields-  2  cups.

2 T. vegetable oil                                           

3 T. white or liquid honey

2  C. natural (skins on) whole almonds

2-4 T. chili powder (to taste)

1 T. Mrs. Dash Original Blend OR Spike Seas. Blend

½ teas. cayenne pepper (optional, if you like it HOT)

1 teas. sea salt

½ -1 teas. powdered ginger (to taste)

½- 1 teas. freshly-ground pepper (to taste) 

Preheat oven to 375.

Grease a large cookie sheet with the vegetable oil and set aside. In a medium saucepan, heat honey over medium heat for 1-2 minutes, just to heat through. Remove from heat. Stir in the almonds, coating thoroughly and set aside.

Combine spices in a small bowl or shaker with large holes. Spread the honeyed almonds onto cookie sheet in single layer. Sprinkle evenly with ½ of the spice mix .  

Bake for 10 minutes, remove from oven and turn almonds and sprinkle with remaining spice mix, return to oven for 10 more minutes. Reduce heating slightly if over-browning. Allow almonds to cool thoroughly before storing (if there’s any left!!!)

Reprinted from: Not Just for Vegetarians by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.   

11 responses

  1. G, what are the other yummy-looking dishes in the photo?
    And as for cat toys, our little Nero simply cannot resist a red “laser” light! Sasha favors a ball of Hershey Kisses wrappers; and my big fellow, Brickle loves a good piece of string. Ah… the simple things.

  2. Hi Cynthia,
    The recipes included in the photo are:
    Spicy Cream Cheese Rollups
    Hummus with a Twist
    Roasted Pumpkin Seeds
    Spicy Honey Almonds
    Dilly Dip

    Wow, I’m getting hungry!!! Almost supper time. Joe’s making Zucchini and Cheddar Fettucini as I type… 🙂

    I hope you have some recent pics of your kitties on your blog soon. Yes, the simple things indeed, they really do like them best, don’t they.

  3. Persephone likes any toy that is within easy reach, although her little fishy on a string is the current fave. Desdemona stands by her fluffy string ball that I found at the dollar store. She carries it around and sings to it…very cute. Also very loud. 🙂

    The fruitcake we get in the states is what gives the stuff a bad name, I fear. I hear that real English fruit cake is quite good. But, I generally don’t care for fruit messing around in my cake like little interlopers. Fruit is sneaky that way. I don’t trust it one bit. Hence, I probably will never eat a fruitcake!

  4. I’m blessed that my kitties are happiest with inexpensive toys (like tear strips from Priority Mail envelopes!). That however, looks like a lot of fun! I hope your kitties love it!

    Thanks for reminding me of the spicy honey almonds…gotta make some for gift giving!
    (((hugs)))

  5. I don’t mind a little bit of fruitcake, but I can’t say that I prefer it. Maybe if there was chocolate in it… 🙂

  6. Hi G,

    Well, I still say household chemicals are a good reason to give up cleaning, but if we must, it’s sure better to use natural, non-toxic products. Also, unless you are a health-care worker dealing with bacteria on a moment-to-moment basis, don’t use antibacterial soaps or cleaners. They kill the good bacteria your body needs to function properly. Also, bacteria is adapting to these products and evolving into “superbugs” that are very difficult to kill. So, soap and water is Just Fine for your hands, and cothes, and kitchen counters.

    Believe it or not, YES, I really do like fruitcake. My husband’s mother used to make her own, and it was just yummy! Unfortunately she is no longer with us, but I wonder what happened to her recipe box…. 🙂

  7. what a fantastic view! and the cream cheese rollups look really yummy as well. I might have to make some for a snack soon.

    cute cat, too!

  8. Mmmmm….almonds. The honey almonds sound fabulous. I’m into these sorts of crunchy little holiday snacks right now for some reason….last week I roasted some chestnuts and today some winter squash seeds.

    As for cat toys—string! open boxes set on their sides! toy mousys and catnip, can’t beat ’em!

  9. misswoollyknits

    Very nice view out your kitchen window!

  10. Hi Sheep and kitties, All good choices for cat toys!! The turbo seems to be getting the paws up here. The only fruitcake I ever really liked was the kind we use to make at university with LOTS of rum in it! We actually were selling them at our Toronto campus residence at Christmas LOL!!! Popular item. 😉

    Hi Sallee,I am familiar with Meezer’s fav. tearstrip! Make lots of spicy almonds, I’ve yet to meet anyone who doesn’t like them.

    Hi Beth, Now there’s a thought! Chocolate is always a winner. Im going to try chili with cocoa added soon.

    Hi M, Good point about the cleaning but I don’t think we’ll ever get away from doing some. I look at it as an exercise routine if you put in enough ‘elbow grease’. LOL
    Hope you find that special family recipe!

    Hi Wheeler, Your ice cream treats look great!

    Hi C, Not only yummy but nut snacks are a good pick-me-up anytime. Lots of usable protein. Do send the kitties a big hug!

    Hi MaryAnne, Thanks. Your photos of your backyard are always so beautiful.

    Ill be sharing some travel pics in my next post, hope you can all stop by again soon.

    Huggs, G 🙂

  11. That looks like a fascinating toy!

    I love the photos. They are lovely.

    I don’t have cats anymore but my ferrets love the balls that have the tiny bells inside. They are always pouncing on them and batting them around. Some of their antics reminds me of cats. 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

