The winter winds….

 ……are a blowin’ and snow is on the way!

As you can see from our kitchen view, there’s already a light dusting of snow on the mountains and rooftops.

Today is stormy and cold and now, at 4PM, it’s already almost dark. 😦

There are pluses to the fall/winter though, one of them being all the great harvest fruits and root veggies that are ready to be enjoyed.

I’ve been doing a lot of baking/cooking with BC’s wonderful Gala apples this past week. 

Here’s a couple of my favorite apple recipes to share:

Curried Apple Soup

 and…..a

 And a favorite muffin recipe:

APPLESAUCE OATMEAL MUFFINS

Recipe for muffins to follow at the end of this post.

Speaking of cooking, I now have a new helper in the kitchen: This is one of Mr. Cheddar’s new fav. perches….As long as he stays there and doesn’t head for the counters, I’m ok with that location, LOL….. actually Mr. C is great company and very opinionated about what’s working and what isn’t as I chop and stir.

Curbing his interest in all things yarn-related, now that’s another story!!! My beautiful orange boy LOVES knitting needles and how….  😉

The Mitz says…. “Yeah…whatever Meowmie!!! I’d rather take a nap.”

I’ve also been working on some upcoming online projects, more about those soon. Completing craft projects is not going as quickly as I’d like, Mr. C as I mentioned above is not helping in this department, but I certainly can’t blame him entirely for my lack of progress.

So, I’m chalking it up to a slow week….it’s not the end of the world right? Getting too upset over things not getting done as quickly as we’d like is not really productive in the long-run.I’ve got a list of chores that I  really don’t want to tackle so I’ve decided to take ONE of those tasks each day, starting next week, get it done, get it crossed off the list and feel good about it. What do you think? Better than looking at the whole LONG list in despair every day. At least there is some real progress, albeit slow.                              

I’ve updated the Veggie’s Bookstore (see sidebar) with some new gift/book recommendations and a shiny new button, sporting a cute eggplant, courtesy of the talented Heather over at paperclips. Check out the Veggie’s Bookstore if you are looking for some gift-giving inspiration!

Thanks again Heather and to all my other blog pals who’ve helped along the way, for all your expertise and assistance. Much appreciated. How nice it is to have blog-buds come to the rescue (and it’s happened so many times) and when it comes to all things techie, believe me, I still need rescuing much of the time. LOL.

Also, FINALLY getting back to jewelry-making for my ‘in the works’ etsy shop, again, coming soon. What fun it was to get out all the beads, wires and other tools of the trade and spend some time this week rediscovering one of my all-time fav. crafts.

Alas, only a few years ago, not a week went by that I didn’t complete at least one, sometimes more… craft projects, every single week. I also wrote a newspaper craft column for over 5 years so that certainly was part of my creative pursuits for a long time….

I’m hoping now that I can really take the time to get back to my fav. hobbies and will keep you posted with progress reports and finished items along the way.

I’ll finish off today with one of my winter poems and wish you all great week to come.   🙂

After all the years of living on the VERY cold Canadian Prairies, year after year….whining (and everyone did!) about snow being on the way when fall arrived…..strange but true, now that we are in the milder climes of BC this year, I am actually looking forward to the first real snowfall!!! 

 Here’s a look back at a walk on the Prairies on a winter’s day…..

Walk on a Winter’s Day

DSCN0077.JPG DSCN0075.JPGDSCN0073.JPG

Chilled to the bone, the frosty sheer air.
Winter again, unrelenting, inevitably here.
The stillness of a new untouched morning,
Still ours alone to share.

The trees, a wonderland of beauty,
Boughs lush with white diamonds,
Dreamlike, in a haze of soft gray sky.
A picture,well-worth a thousand words.

Bundled and mittened, we walk on….
Determined, sure-footed,facing the elements.
Brave against the chill.
Your hand in mine, snug and secure.
The cold less bitter,because you are near.

Step after step,we trudge the brilliant white mile.
Smug in our solitude, nothing to fear.
With chocolate and kisses, waiting in the warmth.
To welcome us home,again, glad to be here.

 Geraldine Helen Hartman

Applesauce Oatmeal Muffins

A great way to use up leftover applesauce. Makes  10-12 large muffins. An ideal lunchbox treat!!!

1 C. buttermilk

1 C. unsweetened (see note below) applesauce (preferably homemade)

1 egg, beaten

¼ C. vegetable oil

½ C. brown sugar

1 C. uncooked rolled oats

½ teas. sea salt

1-2  teas. ground cinnamon(to taste)

2 teas. baking powder

1 teas. baking soda

1 ¼ C. unbleached white flour

½- ¾  C. chopped walnuts or pecans (opt.)

Preheat oven to 400. Thoroughly grease muffin tin and set aside. In a large bowl, combine first 4 ingredients. Gradually stir in brown sugar and mix well.

Combine remaining dry ingredients in a medium-sized bowl and add to liquid mixture, stirring just enough to combine, don’t over mix or muffins will be tough.

Fill muffin tins 2/3 full. Bake 12-15 minutes, until done.Reduce heat to 375 after first 5 minutes, if muffins are browning too much.

Note: If using presweetened applesauce, adjust brown sugar accordingly. 

Recipe adapted from : Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, The Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved. 

13 responses

  1. Wow…you’ve been busy! It certainly sounds like you are finding a way to combine the old with the new as well. Enjoy the new season!

    BTW: I’m still having email difficulty so I’ll be firing up the old computer sometime today to check emails just in case you’ve sent anything recently.

  2. We’ve had a couple dustings of snow so far, very pretty as long as it stays off the roads! LOL

    Ok…bad pun coming, get ready: I assume Mr. Cheddar likes best to help with the cheese dishes?! (Sorry, couldn’t resist… 🙂

    If I don’t get as much done at this time of year, I just remind myself that it is the yin time of year, it’s ok to slow down and take things easy. 🙂

    Happy cooking and crafting! (Have to go take a peek at your new store now!)

  3. Amazon store looks great….I love it! 🙂

  4. Enjoy your snow! I love while it comes down, the stormyness, the gray skies, the white fluffy stuff!
    But…I don’t like it on the roads, either!
    lolol
    And that Mr. C. is SUCH a beauty…(sorry Ms. M – you ARE divine, doncha know?)
    (((hugs)))

  5. Gala is one of my favorite varieties of apples. Yum! Your assistant is pretty cute. 😉

  6. Nice photo and poem! I love snow. I feel warm and happy inside when I see the first hint of snowflakes falling and bare branches outlined against the cold grey sky and stillness in the air. It’s my favourite time of the year.

  7. your muffins look absolutely mouth-watering!

  8. I’m glad someone is looking forward to a little snow. Yuck!!! I always dread snow unless I’m home for the weekend and have a roaring fire.

  9. Hi G., Veggies is looking good, nice header and the bookstore too. One
    day I”ll figure out how to do that too.

    I keep meaning to try the apple curry soup. It looks great! And lots of
    local apples here in New England right now. It sounds like you have a
    good plan for tackling your to do list and craft projects. Very difficult for
    me to stay motivated and not procrastinate with to do lists so I like your
    idea of just being able to complete one item a day. Good luck!

    Thanks for sharing the poem too. Today we had a light dusting as well so it
    fits the mood.

  10. Hi Sheep, I like that, combining the old with the new…I am so happy to be able to have time again, to work on crafts that have long been left in boxes. I’ve always been an avid crafter but you’d never have known it, judging by the last few years. Life happens, right? I finished a hat last night, that I actually designed (well sorta) myself, that was such fun!

    Hi M, Thanks for the good advice ( as usual!) I really need to ‘chill’ more, your relax posts at BWWM help a LOT!!! Thanks also for the compliments re: the store, I kinda like it too. Love to learn new things online it doesnt come naturally to me LOL…

    ANd yes, Mr. C does indeed LOVE cheddar cheese in anything!!! 😉

    Hi Sallee, Mr. C says thanks but he already knew that. Ms. M is glad NOT to be forgotten. She is so laid-back these days, really starting to accept Mr. C a lot more, thank goodness. Watch those slippery roads, don’t ya hate em…. 😦

    Hi Beth, Yes, he is so cute isn’t he, I love when he keeps me company, on his new ‘perch’. Galas are great, I agree. Yummy fresh and in recipes, the muffins were really were special, using galas, great flavor.

    Hi MaryAnne, What a beautiful mind-pic, your comment conjures up. Fav time of year, thats interesting, probably not too many people would pick winter but it can be beautiful, especially here in BC. I love fall best though.

    Hi Celine, Welcome to Veggies! I love your little pic (avator?? sp?) so cute. Thanks for the compliments. I’ve added your blog to my blogroll, Have Cake, Will Travel….check this one out folks! Its a goodie.

    Hi Diana, I still like the snow, as long as I don’t have to drive in it!! After living for so long on the Prairies and driving through the worst possible weather and street conditions, year after year…. you’d think Id get use to it, but never did. The roaring fire part sounds very nice….hot chocolate please! 🙂

    Hi C, Thanks for the compliments, very nice! I will be happy to help with an amazon store, should you decide to add one to EFG. I checked with WP, they were ok with this one ‘commercial’ addition on a freebie WP, as we both have.
    Yes, do try the soup, great time of year too, it’s different but really tasty.

    Hope you are all having a great day and thanks for stopping by, much appreciated. Huggs, G 🙂

  11. Your kitty is so pretty! I have 4 fluffy fur balls and keeping them off the counter is a huge pain! Love the photos of all your yummy food, it inspired me to go get my “cinnamon roll factory” going… Have a good holiday!

  12. I am saving this site. I am a vegan and I love poetry. The poem was very nice. The picture is very serene. Your kitty is so cute. I am also a cat lover. Will be checking out the site again after the holiday. Have a great thanksgiving.

  13. I recently started a blog teaching others how to be vegan as I am learning. Here it is if anyone is interested. Thanks.

    http://www.invitationfrom-gnewvegan.blogspot.com/

    And your recipes look yummy…

Thanks so much for your comments!

