Recipe: Curried Apple Soup

 

One of the many pleasures of fall are the beautiful ‘fresh from the orchard’ apples that are now available. Of course they don’t last long before starting to lose their crisp and delicious texture so must be used up fairly quickly.

 In addition to making apple: pies, butters, crisps and good old baked; this is one of my favorite ways to use up some of the abundant fall crop. Tangy colorful and something a bit different for supper or lunch. Hope you will enjoy this luscious soup soon.     

 

Curried Apple Soup

A flavourful, colorful and tangy soup. Great for using up some of the fall apple harvest. Serve with fresh bread, scones or chapattis for a complete and satisfying meal. Makes 4 generous servings.

3 T. butter or margarine

1 medium sweet onion, chopped

6 medium apples, peeled and chopped (MacIntosh and Gala varieties work well)

2 T. lemon juice

2-3 T. (good quality) curry powder, to taste

2 T. fresh parsley, finely chopped

1 teas. crushed dried thyme leaves

1/4 -1/2 teas. freshly-ground black pepper

1-2  teas. Mrs. Dash Original Blend OR Spike Seasoning Blend (to taste)

1/2-1 teas. sea salt (opt.)

4 C. vegetable soup stock

1 T. cornstarch mixed with 4T. cold water

½ C. milk, soy milk or buttermilk

Optional garnishes: parsley, lemon slices, sour cream or plain yogurt (or vegan-type)

In a large soup pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add onions and sauté for 1 minute. Add apples and sauté for 2 additional minutes. Stir in lemon juice and curry powder, coating the apples and onions thoroughly. Cover, reduce heat to low and steam for 5 minutes.

 Add all remaining ingredients EXCEPT the cornstarch and water, milk or soy milk.

Bring to a boil, cover and again reduce heat to low. Simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in cornstarch and water mixture, bring to a boil for 2 minutes, stirring until thickened. Remove from heat. Stir in milk or soy milk. Puree to desired consistency in a food processor (leave some chunks for texture). Adjust seasonings.

Serve immediately with garnish(s) of choice.

Adapted from the original recipe in : Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.  

15 responses

  1. What a gorgeous fall soup. Great photo!

  2. Oh my! Curried apple soup. What a great idea. I’ll have to try it. I’m going to attempt to make a raw version.

  3. Mmmm..curry! I do love it when it’s paired with the sweet. It’s certainly soup weather right now!

  4. YUMMY! I can almost smell it now…mmmm

  5. hmm…ingredients are going on my shopping list!
    I love curry, I love apples, and it’s definitely time for soups!
    (((hugs)))

  6. What a great combination of ingredients! LOVE IT! So original, G…

  7. Apple soup! sounds interesting

  8. That looks so very delicious! Mmmm!

  9. yum. this makes my mouth water!

  10. Thanks UV, I like this photo a lot too and the soup is delish!!!

    Hi Opal, Yes, it is a nice blend of flavors and I could eat Curry Anything!!!

    Hi Sheep, I agree on all counts!

    Hi Heather, Wouldnt that be great (most times) smell-o-blog!!! LOL

    Hi Sallee, Let me know how the gang likes it.

    Hi K, You are so nice!!!

    Hi Teddy, It is interesting and yummy too.

    Hi Beth, It is and I hope you try it soon. Definitely soup weather here now.

    Hi Dawn, Guess I did ok on the photo!!!

    Thanks to you all for stopping by. Huggs, G 🙂

  11. Looks yummy…. The fall is a wonderful time especially because it is the time of year when soups are in their glory.

  12. This sounds very tasty!

  13. Reblogged this on VEGGIES, YARNS & TAILS and commented:

    ***I’m just getting over a cold here and right now, soup is the only thing I DO crave to eat. Hope you enjoy this encore post for one of my fav autumn soups. A great time of year for all kinds of apple recipes and this one is a bit different, with the addition of curry. Enjoy. Now I’m off to take a nap. I don’t do sick often or well. ;<(****

  14. Sounds good. I will have to try it. I love soup recipes. I am fixing a chicken noodle soup tonight that I have had the recipe for.

  15. Soup is goodall year but i agree, the colder the weather the tastier! Great recipe!!

Thanks so much for your comments!

