Book Review:Vegetarian Soups for All Seasons

 

I was happy to receive the latest cookbook by Nava Atlas in the mail last week: Vegetarian Soups for all Seasons, Bountiful Vegan.

As expected, this talented cookbook author did not disappoint.

To backtrack a bit….I have known Nava Atlas for several years. I wrote an email to her after I purchased The Vegetarian 5 Ingredient Gourmet; I was that impressed by the concept of this cookbook and how well the recipes had been put together. Since then, we’ve corresponded now and then and it’s been a pleasure to keep in touch.

Obviously, I was looking forward to seeing this revised version of Nava’s previous soup cookbook, now entirely vegan, updated and with additional new recipes added.

There are many reasons why I like this new book. First of all, the recipes are divided into seasonal choices (I am always a fan of this concept). Nava has included a wide variety of soups; everything from Creamy Golden Potato-Squash Soup (great for fall) to Gingery Miso-Spinach Soup (a perfect pick for spring)Also included are a good selection of hearty, stick-to-the-ribs stews (love those in winter !) and a selection of breads, scones and biscuits to round out any meal.

Best of all, Nava has steered the course and kept these recipes practical. Ingredients for the most part that are easily available at any well-stocked grocery store. These are definitely recipes that would appeal to a wide range of  tastes and certainly not just vegans or wannabe vegans (like me!).

I continue to be turned off by vegan cookbooks containing bizarre recipes with strange ingredient combinations (not to mention from a nutritional point of view) and from what I can tell, methods that just wouldn’t work. I find that over and over, in perusing the new offerings on the cookbook shelves. The ‘hype’ might be there and the media is obviously behind many of these new vegan ‘stars’ . But really, are these the kind of recipes that would appeal in the long run and for the whole family? I think not. I could name names of a few examples but I’ll be nice and assume you know the ones I mean. LOL… 😉

Happily, Nava’s new soup cookbook is definitely NOT in that category. These are recipes that will appeal to the whole family. For meat-eaters, vegetarians and vegans too. This will be a collection of recipes that will be used again and again and for many years to come.

I will be featuring a couple of Nava’s recipes on Veggies….in the near future. It’s been hard to decide what to make first but I think I’m going with: Sweet and Sauerkraut Soup (appeals to my German roots!) and Onion Rye Scones to go with. Yummmm…Stay tuned for the tasty results.  🙂 

Stop by Nava’s website and blog for ordering options and more great recipes from a Vegetarian Kitchen.

5 responses

  1. Soup is one of my favorite things to make and eat. And I love sauerkraut! So Sweet and Sauerkraut Soup sounds wonderful!!! I will check out this book. Thanks for the heads-up!

  2. Hmm, thanks for the tip! I know someone for whom this’ll make a great gift. 🙂

  3. In my neck of the woods it is sometimes hard to find exotic ingredients and I salute the authors who celebrate “real” food! It is unlikely that I will be making something that requires me to search the state for powdered root of dingleberry bush! Good Pick!

  4. I just got it too! I’m so excited to take a look and try some things out. Looks like we’ll be trying stuff together!

    Teddy

  5. Mmmm soup…
    It makes me feel like sitting down on the floor with a blanket wrapped around me as I stare into the fireplace. 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

