Recipe: Quickie Cabbage Rolls

  

Another great thing about Autumn (besides all the beautiful colors) is being able to once again ‘fire up’ the oven for an extended cooking session, without worrying about heating up the whole house. I’ve been taking advantage of the cooler temps. in the past couple of weeks; making lots of fav. casseroles, breads and a few days ago, these easy  Quickie Cabbage Rolls from NJFV.

Cabbage rolls are a staple on the Canadian Prairies but unfortunately they are usually stuffed with ground pork or beef. This quick and delicious redo is my veggie version of a family favorite that has stood the test of time.

Use any Spanish Rice mix that you like, the kind with tomatoes added to it, while cooking. There are many types available, at the grocery and health food stores. This is why I called these Quickie Cabbage Rolls, no fuss and usually the ingredients are already on hand.

Another bonus, these cabbage rolls freeze well. When I’m planning to freeze some of them (usually make a double batch) I reduce the cooking time by about 15 minutes for the rolls I’m planning to freeze, to avoid the cabbage being overcooked, when re-heated. I also like to use Savoy Cabbage when available, beautiful large leaves and a wonderful texture and color.

Here’s a link to more information re: Cabbage varieties and substitutions: Savoy Cabbage

A meal in the oven, just add some baby carrots or other fav. veggie and you’ll be good to go.

Here’s a link from The Veggie Table, featuring the Quickie Cabbage Rolls recipe and also a review of NJFV by Laura K. Lawless  Enjoy!   🙂

9 responses

  1. I haven’t had stuffed cabbage in years! My former roommate used to make them. I always liked the rice ones better than the meat filled-version. I wonder how the vegetarian “crumbles” would work. I’ve substituted that in a few recipes with pretty good results. Have a great week!

  2. Glad you mentioned re: the veg. crumbles. I have subbed these, in lieu of the veggie ham and also turned out good.

    Hope you are feeling better and wishing you a great week too. 🙂

  3. yumm, cabbage rolls. years ago our landlady used to make them from scratch, some with beef and some meatless. They were incredibly tasty.
    I saw the recipe for your potato pie in the review and must try that some day. I have a potato fiend in this house 🙂

  4. Oh, I love cabbage rolls! I haven’t been able to decide what to eat lately, but I think my problem has been solved! 🙂

  5. My grandmother used to make something like this, but at the same time, NOTHING like this. Looks great, G!! Love the healthier version you make.

    Keeping good thoughts for you!!

  6. Mmm cabbage rolls that sounds all types of delightful!
    I haven’t made them in a while but they are on my list. I’m also found of kale and collard wraps many of my raw dishes are centered on these green beauties!

  7. Gwumpkies!! Being of eastern-European descent (one of my grandmothers actually coming to the US from Eastern Europe around 1915), that’s the name everyone used for cabbage rolls…they were a “staple” at every family gathering; some included meat, some were just rice…I loved them. 🙂

    Good food and nostalgia all in one post, thanks, G! 🙂

  8. Your site often leaves me hungry Geraldine. 🙂 It is indeed a wonderful thing to once again be able to bake in the luxury of soon-to-be-cold weather!

  9. Hi MaryAnne, Yes, do try the potato pie when you can, VERY rich but a small piece goes a long way LOL…Im a potato fiend too!!!!

    Hi Beth, I wanted to make an ‘oven dinner’ and thought these were a perfect choice, didn’t have too much time for prep. I used savoy cabbage last time, so nice to work with the BIG leaves! 🙂

    Hi K, Thanks so much. I bet your Grandma’s were really good too. How I miss my Grandma and the best bread and apple pie Ive ever eaten, the aroma wafting from her kitchen when we visited, good memories. I am thinking good thoughts for you and the Matster too. 🙂

    Hi RVM, Interesting!!! I have never tasted collard greens, are they similar to cabbage?

    Hi Michelle, Christmas wasn’t possible without perogies and cabbage rolls when I was growing up, I can relate. Cute name, never heard that one before. My grandma called these ‘holupscys’ (sp?) and the ‘kids’ including me called them, ‘PIDGEONS’, I have NO idea why!!!!

    Hi JLB, And may the cold weather stay away for a LONG, LONG time!!!! Not looking forward to that at all. 😦

    Thanks for stopping by, happy cooking, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!