Poem for Autumn: My Favorite Season

  

Autumn

Season of splendour,

The earth, again laying it’s head down,

preparing for the long winter sleep ahead.

The Stillness, palpable,so serene….everywhere.

                                                   

But for now,

Mother Nature’s paintbrush is busy.

With brilliant palette of crimson and gold.

The forest, so peaceful yet alive with color.

The late summer sun, still warming the days.

                                                                      

My favourite season.

It’s beauty, far surpassing the others.

A magical time, of awakenings and endings.

Like no other, a joy to once again rediscover.

                                                                        

As the earth drifts off to it’s rest, once more.

So to are we also reminded of another year’s passing.

And of changes, inevitable, required in all things.

And to everything, there is a season,

and a reason, we will find,

for all.

                                                          

Autumn,

It’s loveliness and wonder endures.

To come for another year, to dazzle and delight.

We put away our thoughts, no NOT yet!!!

Of the winter chill ahead.

There is so much to enjoy, right now.

So much beauty to behold.

Warming us.

Touching our very souls.

                                      

GHH/2000

16 responses

  1. Autumn is my favorite time of year…

  2. Just lovely! I do so enjoy this time of year!
    (((hugs)))

  3. What a beautiful poem and tribute to Autumn! It’s my favorite season, too. Unfortunately we have very few deciduous trees here; our trees are mostly evergreens, so I don’t get to walk through the fallen leaves and make a lot of crunchy noises like I did when living in central New York. I love OR, but I miss the colors. Thanks for the picture and a peek “back East.” 🙂

  4. Oh, how pretty! We’re getting our first taste of autumn here in the northeast u.s. I’m loving it!

  5. G, your poem is lovely! Autumn is my favorite time of the year, too.

  6. Gorgeous image Geraldine! I cannot wait for the leaves to turn in my neck of the woods. Happy Autumn. 🙂

  7. I love yout tribute to autumn. It’s one of my favorite seasons. I love all seasons but winter is my all-time favorite. 🙂

  8. G., thanks for the great image and lovely poem to celebrate fall’s arrival.

  9. What a beautiful poem! You’ve captured the essence of autumn in your words. Thank you for sharing with us.

  10. Beautiful image. We’re starting to turn gold here, too. I love this time of the year.

  11. Thanks to all of you for stopping by! Glad you enjoyed the Autumn photo and poem!!!

    Huggs, G

  12. I’m a little late but I liked it too!!

    Teddy

  13. Lovely poem, G! And that’s a great photo you picked as well.

  14. the cabbage rolls look amazing! and Fall is also my favorite season – whata breathtaking photo!

  15. What a beautiful poem to match that gorgeous photo

  16. Hi Teddy, Nice to ‘see’ you again, Glad you liked the post too.

    Hi K, You are sooooo nice!!!

    Hi Vicki, The cabbage rolls are very tasty to eat too….I like the photo but its kinda hard to get a fork into the screen LOL. 🙂

    Hi Jen Jen, Thanks so much!! I loved your fortune cookie post btw.

    Great to hear from you all, Huggs, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

