Doesn’t This Look Yummy???

 

I was doing a Google search yesterday, looking for a similiar (ie: as close as possible) recipe to a favorite Rice Bowl which Joe and I enjoy at a local (almost) vegetarian restaurant. Our city is sadly lacking in vegetarian, anything!  A few veggie eateries have come and gone, but up here in “cattle country” beef and pork unfortunately still rule. (sorry photo no longer available)

On the same topic, I found it most disheartening at NJFV book signings, how many younger people were still singing the praises of a meat-based diet, at the same time telling me about their cholestrol medications!!! Yikes, and we are talking about people in their 20’s,30’s and 40’s.

Another thing I did learn at book signings, you can ‘never tell a book by a cover’ and that includes people. Some of the most ‘unlikely in appearance to be cool’ of people who showed up at my table to browse/ buy a cookbook, were often the ones most ‘in the know’.

One memorable example that comes to mind: A 60ish, rather frumpy looking woman breezed into one of the bookstores where I sat and looked like she would probably be heading for the Barbara Cartland novels. Dressed in a flowery coat and hat, sporting big glasses and a dreamy smile. NOT!!!! She turned out being a retired pharmacist, now singing the praises of a drug-FREE and meat-FREE life and promptly bought 3 of my cookbooks, which she gushed about all the way to the cash register. She was a very interesting woman to talk to and taught me the lesson again about looking beyond the exterior.

Anyways, I digress…..and in a big way. Back to my rice bowl recipe search. I found a blog called ‘What Do I Know’ based in the UK, that features a number of vegan recipes including this very yummy sounding one that appears to be what I’ve been trying to replicate but haven’t got ‘just right’ so far. Peanut sauce can be tricky, getting the right consistency and a perfect flavor blend. I think the rice vinegar is probably key. Cilantro…..well, don’t get me started but I don’t think it’s a must.

Anyways, thought I’d share this one with you all and plan to try the recipe later this week. I’ll let you know how it goes and if you give it a whirl, do tell too!!! Happy Cooking !     🙂

Recipe is at: What Do I Know, Tofu and Broccoli with Peanut Sauce

PS: A big thanks and hugggggs to Sallee over at one of my fav. blogs, Knitnana for spreading the word about the Mitz caption contest which closes on September 30th. Lots of click throughs and more caption entries coming in, keeping me laughing all the way. Make sure to stop by Sallee’s for news of the fabulous Meezer, also yarn and fabric tales a plenty. A great place to visit, I do almost every day.

9 responses

  1. That does indeed look YUMMY! Have printed it out and will try it soon.
    And thank YOU for the lovely comments about my blog!
    (((hugs)))

  2. mmm…that does look tasty! I’m also often amazed by how folks can be so different from the image they project. Mom always said, “you can’t judge a book by it’s cover…”

  3. Thank you for the lovely comments on my blog too! I hope you enjoy it.

  4. Y-U-M! Rice bowls (or troughs!) are one of our house staples, when we had gas to cook on! Peanut sauce is tricky, but lime juice at the end and blending well always helps me.

    You are very right about books and their covers, sometimes their content can be very different! 🙂

    Love the croched socks, they will be good friends come the chilly mornings. Enjoy!

  5. That definitely does look delicious! There are many of my favorite things in the recipe. Yum@

  6. Yes, it absolutely Does look very yummy!!!

    (And, don’t even get me Started on people in their 20’s and 30’s taking medications for mostly preventable conditions…makes me crazy…grrrr.)

  7. It does look very yummy. 🙂

  8. How absolutely true about not judging a book by its cover (though the NJFV book is wonderful from cover to cover, and all the pages in between!) as far as people go. (And some animals as well.)

    Great lookin’ rice bowl there!! Love the ingredients there. So yummy and healthy, G.

    Mat sez THANX 4 the e-mail & hugs 2 Mitz ‘n’ U!

  9. Hi KN, You are very welcome and thanks for spreading the word re: the Mitz contest!

    Hi Sheep, So true, some old sayings stand the test of time.

    Hi Kathy, Thanks for stopping by and sharing this great looking recipe, will be trying it this week for sure.

    Hi Heather, I like it, troughs LOL….guilty as charged when something is tooooo yummy, this probably will be, Im just crazy about rice bowls with peanut sauce.

    Hi Beth, Definitely worth a try I think.

    Hi Michelle, Yes, one of my ‘peeves’ too. For people and also over-medicating pets. There are usually effective alternatives in both scenarios to try first, that’s for sure.

    Hi Dawn, I totally agree. This photo makes me so hungry!!!!

    Hi K, You are SO nice, thanks again for all your compliments re: NJFV. Let me know which recipes youve tried so far. The Mitz just sent the Mats another email this A.M.

    Huggs and thanks for your comments, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

