What’s all the Hype about Green Tea?

 Lately, I’ve been reading and hearing so much about Green Tea and it’s many benefits. Everywhere I go, people seem to be ordering up and enjoying this greenish brew. And of course online, there are millions of sites, singing the praises of regular consumption of Green Tea.

What are your thoughts? Do you regularly enjoy Green Tea? Any particular brands that stand out as more flavorful? What about the health benefits that you’ve noted? Would love to hear your thoughts on Green Tea.

I have yet to develop a yen for a cuppa this particular brew but I am  thinking that this might be something too good to pass up.

I had a wonderful photo of Green Tea leaves to include with this post from Flickr; unfortunately their site is acting a bit wonky this morning so no go.Over 10,000 photos on file for this search! Wow, the Green Tea ice cream looked amazing! Now that I could develop a taste for!!!!  LOL

Here are two of many links re: Green Tea. Happy Sipping!  🙂

Celestial Seasonings, Benefits of Green Tea

More Facts on Green Tea from Yale/New Haven

10 responses

  1. I love green tea. You have to do it right, though. Don’t boil the water. Get it to the point before it boils. And don’t leave the bag or leaves in for too long. It has to be timed just right.

    When it’s done well, the flavor is delightful.

  2. Oh, btw…in case you didn’t know, this is dawn from life inchoate. I have multiple accounts and when I log in here, I’m under this account. Oops! 🙂

  3. I think i’m the only person on Urth who has not yet tried Green Tea! That Celestial Seasonings box is gorgeous. (I love their tea boxes!)

  4. If you get a real good quality Japanese green tea, like sencha, you will immediately notice the difference. I love the subtle smoky flavor. And I am always cold, so drinking it keeps me warm.

  5. Me ‘n the green tea have an “on again off again” sort of relationship. I think I like the idea of drinking it more than the actual experience. Thankfully, there are one or two antioxidents in the dark chocolate and that is a food group I’ve got covered! 😉

  6. I’m not a big green tea fan myself, although I am a tea fan. I think it has a wierd, tinted taste to it. Although I do occassionally find a iced green tea I like, like Diet Arizona Green Tea.

  7. i love green tea ice-cream! and i sometimes brew green w/another fruity flavor in my tea pot — to get the benefits & flavor i enjoy.
    georgous kitty photo below — pretty quilt too.

  8. email friend Elaine

    I have also tried Green Tea and find it not bad.
    It is suppose to be quite good for you, so I have heard.
    Loved the picture of Mitzi.

  9. Hi Dawn, Thanks for the tea info., Ill keep this in mind with the next brew!

    Hi K, I HAVE tried it, I just haven’t gotten a taste for it yet. Most people I talk to LOVE it!

    Hi UV, Thanks for this, I will look for this type of tea, next time.

    Hi Sheep, AHhhhh…my kind of solution! You can never go wrong with chocolate LOL…. 🙂

    Hi Rebekah, I love Earl Grey and Chai teas but still working on Green.

    Hi Vicki, Yeah, the green ice cream on Flickr looked amazing. I agree, the Mitz is a beauty, quilt, I cannot take credit, still haven’t made one after so many years of sewing.

    Hi Elaine, Its VERY good for us, apparently. The Mitz says thanks but of course she is NOT surprised by compliments, she gets so many LOL.

    Thanks for the tips and all your comments,

    Happy Sipping, G 😉

  10. Green tea is ok, but I’d rather have chocolate.

    In reasearching/writing about chocolate I found that:
    Chocolate is high in antioxidants and helps to counteract the damage done to bodily tissues. By capturing the “free radicals” left behind, chocolate’s antioxidants may help prevent stroke, heart disease, and cancer. Chang Yong Lee, a researcher at Cornell University, “found that hot cocoa, on a per-serving basis, has four to five times more antioxidants than black tea, two to three times more than green tea, and almost two times more than red wine.”

    Also:
    Chocolate has also been found to contain phenolics, the same chemical found in red wine that helps lower the risk of heart disease. It reduces the oxidation of LDL, low-density-lipoprotein (“bad”) cholesterol, preventing it from creating plaque in the arteries.

    Chocolate is very low in cholesterol.
    Therapeutic chocolate…gotta love it. 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

