NJFV Review: The Cooking News

 

I’ve been suffering with a sore back for the last couple of days so trying to rest and keeping other activities to a minimum. Getting better but still a PAIN in the …… It comes and goes. Sitting too long is a killer.

And NO, unfortunately, I did NOT have fun getting this sore back….LOL More like ‘acts of mercy’ multiplied. Enough said.

In the meantime, thought I would share another review re: Not Just for Vegetarians, courtesy of: The Cooking News.

Hope you are all having a great day. I’ll be back up to full speed soon, I hope….The paper pile continues to grow, showing no sign of let-up!!!       🙂

Read the complete review and featured recipes at:

The Cooking News

17 responses

  1. That was a nice review! Hope it made you smile despite your delicate condition. Rest up and feel better soon. There is nothing worse than back pain; pretty much every movement you need to make during the course of normal life is somehow supported through that core area of your body! Treat yourself to the rest you need.

  2. You can’t fool us…. we know how you got that sore back. And it wasn’t serving tofu!

  3. I’m sorry to hear about your back, Geraldine. It’s miserable to have a sore back. I hope you’ll be well soon.

    That’s a nice review of your book. I wasn’t sure what to have for dinner tonight. I think I’ll get the book out and make something (if I have the ingredients).

  4. email friend Elaine

    That certainly was a nice review of your book. I can only say your book has such wonderful recipes.
    I wish I had more time to try them all. Oh well winter is coming and will have more time to adventure forth in NJFV.
    I hope your back is getting a bit better, I know you have so much on your plate, you just don’t know when to call it quits. Take it easy.

  5. aw I hope your back feels better! 😦

    Teddy

  6. hey there, take care of your back! i really like the title of your cookbook.

  7. Get well soon! Great review of your book too!

  8. Hi Sheep, You nailed it on the head. It’s all the moves that really let you know you’re in trouble!!! Feeling quite a bit better today but will ‘baby my back’ for another day or two…

    Hi Diana, It wasn’t serving tofu and it also wasn’t having any fun, you naughty girl!!!!

    Hi Beth, Thanks for your kind wishes, how was dinner, did you dine from NJFV?

    Hi Elaine, Yes, the REAL cooking weather is on the way, especially in our colder climate, already the nights are cool….blessed relief. Thanks for your concern. I actually don’t get nearly as much done as I want to in a day, never enough time.

    Hi Teddy, Thanks, it is better.

    Hi Vicki, Thanks. I picked the title, there was never any others I wanted to even consider, that’s what the book is all about.

    Hi Heather, Thanks very much.

    Huggs to all of you, G 😉

  9. Great review!

    I remember reading in an earlier blog that you needed to replace your breadmachine. Have your replaced it?

  10. Hi Geraldine,

    Sorry to hear about your back…backache is No Fun At All (no matter how you got it!).

    The book looks good enough to eat…that’s a great cover. Very nice review, too. I’m loving these pasta recipies, and the buns look yummy. 🙂

    Take care of yourself…and be well soon.

  11. Sorry about your back, sweetie. I hope you get well soon. I know how terrible those pains are. 😦

    Gonna check the review now…

  12. Hi Opal, No, not yet, but I have been working on some new ‘scratch’ recipes….it was fun actually to get back to the basics!

    Hi Michelle, Thanks for the compliments. And I can take credit for the cover… colors, food ideas were totally mine for that part. I love rich colors, always, I just thought it gave the book a special look. Glad you are enjoying the recipes you’ve tried so far. Keep me posted.

    Hi Z, Well my dear, where have you been??? I hope all is well. Thanks for your concern, my back is getting better, as the Sheep said, you don’t realise how many movements involve your back, until its screwed up…. I feel for people with chronic back pain, I really do.

    Huggs and BFN, G 😉

  13. Hi G. Bummer on the back, hope you get to feeling pain free soon. Thanks for posting the cookbook review (and for the recipes with resoemary uses you sent me earlier). I haven’t tried them yet, but I hope to soon.

  14. Yeah, I’ve suffered from back pain since I was 16. And believe me, it only gets worse. Thank goodness for accupuncture – if it weren’t for that, it would be unbearable.

  15. Geraldine, this is a great review and I can’t wait to review the book myself!

    As for the sore back, I highly recommend first getting the muscles back in shape with a series of massages, and then taking up yoga permanently. This happened to me about 5 years ago, and after a few months of yoga I am stronger than I was when I was in my 20s. Now it is going on 5 years of yoga and no more backaches!

  16. Hi Dori, My back is feeling FINE today,so good! Let me know how the recipes work out, a couple of favs. from NJFV. I LOVE fresh rosemary, will you share LOL!!!! I’d love to see your garden, looks so wonderful in the photo.

    Hi Zee, I know what caused this particular back pain, I was helping out someone on a regular basis, with much too heavy a load, that’s what did me in. I will try to ‘think first’ next time. Our backs are precious indeed.

    Hi Nava, Thanks re: review, and likewise re: your new book!
    I actually HAVE been doing yoga for about 20 YEARS so I am certainly a believer in its benefits. As i said to Zee above, I know how I did this and hopefully will avoid this pain again.

    Huggs and BFN, G 🙂

  17. Workin’ on the next one in hopes it will appear “elsewhere” soon… :o)

    Way to go, and well-deserved praise for the book (and you!), G.

    Your book is wonderful!

Thanks so much for your comments!

