Vegetarian Art Show

Is this cool or what??? Happened to read about this Vegetarian Art Show in Toronto, via a Google alert.

Call me strange but I’ve always thought that fruits and veggies truly are things of beauty (and to behold) .

I can even remember an art class that I took a few years ago and the instructor bringing up the point again and again that ‘simplicity can be beautiful’.

He illustrated this perfectly by painting a large square painting of one perfect green pear (partly in shadow) and let me tell you, I WANTED THAT PAINTING, and badly!!!! It was so beautiful, I just loved to gaze at it, so much to take in and yet so simple. 

This T.O. exhibit would probably be so great to view. The show is on until the end of August at the Vegetarian Haven restaurant, if you happen to be in the area or live in Toronto. A vegetarian meal and art; what a great combo!

For more details and to read the full Toronto Star article:  Vegetarian Art Show

5 responses

  1. I agree. Do you know the art work of Andy Goldsworthy? His art is built from very basic natural elements and is stunningly beautiful.

  2. Back in the day when I taught arts ‘n crafts in summer programs we used to use fruits and veggies to make the coolest prints. I always liked the bell peppers…you could make a wicked neat lacy pattern by repeating the image over and over. Sadly, my brief art training did not yield great results in the fruit painting department…let’s just say I’m a better craftsperson than artist. 😉

  3. That’s a cool link and interesting story, G. THANKS!!

  4. I wish I could go to that veg thing.

    :/
    Teddy

  5. Mmmm…. fruits and veggies… Looking forward to having air conditioning back so we can cook again. *sigh*

Thanks so much for your comments!

